Mint Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Having been a novice at this jelly making business, I misread the instructions regarding the pectin amount. It calls for 1/2 (6 oz.) of pectin. I put in 6 oz.instead of the implied 3 oz. Why not just say 3 oz.s???? Pectin comes in 2-3oz. packages. Needless say mine did not setup. Now to start over again with the Certo recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
As a first time maker of mint jelly, I was very pleased to find that this recipe was quick, simple, and made delicious jelly. I used 3oz of pectin and had no problems with it setting. My only suggestion is that if you use Scotch Mint you may want to use a few more drops of dye--I found that 3 were just enough to turn it from brownish-yellow to a nice shade of pale green. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
As this was my first attempt of "jelly making" I found the recipe easy to follow, but the end product to be on the sweet side. Maybe 2 cups of sugar should be used or 3 1/2 tablespoon of lemon juice. The choice is yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe was so easy and came out perfect! I followed the recipe just as it says and had great results. Looks beautiful in the jars. Will make wonderful additions to my Christmas gift baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Krebs-Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Custar, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milton Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Very good recipe. IF this is your first attempt at jelly making make sure you read the directions like 3x before you even pull out jars. When this recipe says to strain 1 2/3 cup of mint, it means the juice not the leaves, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I tried this recipe yesterday.I grow my own mint, went out and cut it, washed it and folowed the drections tothe letter. It did not set up as it should have. It i a bit on the runny side. I dumped it. I have no idea what happened. Mommacat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Turned out runny and way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Napalmnatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I love mint Jelly, but it turned out pale yellow-green and far too sweet. Flavour was all wrong too. (Maybe because we only had spearmint.) It set up nicely, but all in all, won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Jelly set up, and turned out good. It adds a hint of mint. Warning almost too sweet and minty if you glob it on, so use sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Well I am a novice at mint jelly. Never even had it before. Therefore this recipe gets 5 stars from me! Super easy. Set up nice. Had a great minty sweetness to it. I actually started on the mint jelly mission before I found this recipe. So when I read only a cup and a half of mint I got worried. Because I just put a bunch of mint in a pot boiled it and then strained out three times the recipe amount and tripled the recipe. Made 12 pints. Good luck! I am not an experienced canner so I think if I can do it you can do it. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Grilled Lamb with Mint Orange Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb chops with a minty orange marmalade sauce.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States