Mint Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Excellent taste. I've gotten considerable compliments on this jelly. I add about 3 drops of food coloring to make it a bit darker green but otherwise, no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indian Hills, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Yummy! This is just about the same recipe as they have at the National Center for Home Food Preservation. I cut the sugar down a little so it wasn't too sweet. Yes, do make sure you have ALL your "ducks in a row" before you start heating anything - plan ahead. BONUS: Since 2 Tbsp. of lemon juice was just about one lemon, there was a little leftover. There was leftover mint juice, too - so I added the mint juice and lemon juice to a pot of iced green tea I had made. Delish! Mint-mania at our house. Between the jelly & the tea, I knew something good would come out of our surprise mint patch (our mower broke and the lawn was HIDEOUSLY overgrown!) When life breaks your mower, make mint jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was my first time making a jelly and this recipe was really simple. I did use brown instead of white sugar though and I only used 2 cups but it was still too sweet for me. I do like the flavor though and will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Good recipe. However I used ruby red grapefruit instead of the oranges because I like the tart taste of kumquats and the grapefruit added to the wonderful taste. Not too sweet or too tart. Set up pretty well but I will probably use pectin next time due to the slight runny consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Very easy to make. Set real nice. Loved it in filling for cookies. Made another batch with pineapple mint and used pinapple juice instead of water that was a delite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Recipie was easy to make and understand. I used chocolate mint leaves instead of regular mint leaves. The flavor was different than any other jellies I've had. I'd recommend not using exotic mint plants if you make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This is easy to make and the results are quite satisfying. Use fresh picked Mint for the best result, and wash leaves well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Nahodil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catlett, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I haven't had too many mint jellies but I could hardly taste the mint. Tastes great in general, but a little more mint flavor would be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
First kick at the "Jelly" can and it turned out great. I got a little experimental on the second batch and used pineapple juice instead of water. It is a nice compliment to the mint (especially since I used pineapple mint) and works great if using the jelly as either a condiment on pork/chicken/lamb or as a spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Well I am a novice at mint jelly. Never even had it before. Therefore this recipe gets 5 stars from me! Super easy. Set up nice. Had a great minty sweetness to it. I actually started on the mint jelly mission before I found this recipe. So when I read only a cup and a half of mint I got worried. Because I just put a bunch of mint in a pot boiled it and then strained out three times the recipe amount and tripled the recipe. Made 12 pints. Good luck! I am not an experienced canner so I think if I can do it you can do it. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Grilled Lamb with Mint Orange Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb chops with a minty orange marmalade sauce.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States