Mint Ice Cubes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Okay, I cheated. I poured hot water over the mint, but I didn't like how it turned the mint dark...so, I added fresh mint to cool water. The cubes with the boiling water are stronger, but the cold water ones are prettier (and still taste quite minty). If I really want to get crazy next time, I'll steep some leaves, let the water cool, and replace the dark leaves with fresh ones. I'm looking forward to trying this with other herbs, too. Thanks, Skuba - great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I do ice cubes of many herbs, the hot water releases the oils in the plants, replacing the darkened, spent herbs with fresh after cooling is preferable. Just pop out the frozen cubes into labeled freezer bags and you are ready for many uses, from drinks to stews and everything in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a great idea... I just put cold water in my trays since I didn't want wilted mint; I just tried one in a cup of tea and it was nice!... Thanks for a great way to use up this mint (hubby bought by accident) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Beautiful! I've put berries in ice cubes before, but never thought to use mint. To make it even more perfect, I used the recipe (really a tip) "Ice for Cocktails," also from this site. I also didn't use hot water...I didn't like the idea of it "cooking" the mint. (I had visions of it looking like seaweed within an ice cube) Ideal use of mint for me because other than using it as a garnish for desserts, I use it for nothing else and it always seemed like kind of a waste. I used this for just plain water with dinner and I know I'll appreciate them even more with summer beverages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These are very minty ice cubes! We have an ice maker in our freezer, and I think I got rid of all of our ice cube trays at some point. I could only find a tiny ice cube tray that goes in the mini fridge in the basement. So, I only made 14 mini ice cubes. Since they were small, I used 1 mint leaf per cube. My mint didn't turn that dark like others--perhaps because I have chocolate mint, which is darker in the first place. These were so easy and went along well with the Sun Brewed Mint Tea we made as well. I think I may do this with savory herbs like rosemary and freeze with chicken broth for recipes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Ummmm! I buy mint all the time but sometimes don't use it right away and it ends up tossed out. Never again. I have a few of these in my tea right now and will be using them in lemonade and sparkling water too. Definitely leave the mint in. Thanks, Skuba! Great Idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
These were neat. Hubby gave me that "Chick, you crazy?" look when I was making them, but he loved them in his lemonade! Score one for Skuba. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These were easy, and very refreshing! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
What a great recipe! I love it in my sun brewed iced tea. My mint plant went crazy this year and I didn't know what to do with it all, now I don't have to worry! Thanks Skuba. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Brilliant idea!! My mint plant is flourishing so I will try this with many cool drinks this summer. Thanks Skuba!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Grilled Lamb with Mint Orange Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb chops with a minty orange marmalade sauce.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States