Mint Ice Cubes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Ummmm! I buy mint all the time but sometimes don't use it right away and it ends up tossed out. Never again. I have a few of these in my tea right now and will be using them in lemonade and sparkling water too. Definitely leave the mint in. Thanks, Skuba! Great Idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Awesome idea!!!!!! I like to add mine to my Sweet Tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Deevah Socialite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snow Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Brilliant idea!! My mint plant is flourishing so I will try this with many cool drinks this summer. Thanks Skuba!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Okay, I cheated. I poured hot water over the mint, but I didn't like how it turned the mint dark...so, I added fresh mint to cool water. The cubes with the boiling water are stronger, but the cold water ones are prettier (and still taste quite minty). If I really want to get crazy next time, I'll steep some leaves, let the water cool, and replace the dark leaves with fresh ones. I'm looking forward to trying this with other herbs, too. Thanks, Skuba - great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
What a great recipe! I love it in my sun brewed iced tea. My mint plant went crazy this year and I didn't know what to do with it all, now I don't have to worry! Thanks Skuba. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These were easy, and very refreshing! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was a great idea... I just put cold water in my trays since I didn't want wilted mint; I just tried one in a cup of tea and it was nice!... Thanks for a great way to use up this mint (hubby bought by accident) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I do ice cubes of many herbs, the hot water releases the oils in the plants, replacing the darkened, spent herbs with fresh after cooling is preferable. Just pop out the frozen cubes into labeled freezer bags and you are ready for many uses, from drinks to stews and everything in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These are very minty ice cubes! We have an ice maker in our freezer, and I think I got rid of all of our ice cube trays at some point. I could only find a tiny ice cube tray that goes in the mini fridge in the basement. So, I only made 14 mini ice cubes. Since they were small, I used 1 mint leaf per cube. My mint didn't turn that dark like others--perhaps because I have chocolate mint, which is darker in the first place. These were so easy and went along well with the Sun Brewed Mint Tea we made as well. I think I may do this with savory herbs like rosemary and freeze with chicken broth for recipes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
These were neat. Hubby gave me that "Chick, you crazy?" look when I was making them, but he loved them in his lemonade! Score one for Skuba. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Grilled Lamb with Mint Orange Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb chops with a minty orange marmalade sauce.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States