Mint Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have tried many Mint Chutney recipes, trying to find the one closest to my favorite Indian place that is now 1500 miles away! This one is great. I the only change I made was to use less onion. I found the onion flavor to be a bit overwhelming using an entire onion. Not a fan of raw onion flavor. Half the onion was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by volvomom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I'm not sure I like this but will experiment with different foods and update if I like it. I cut recipe in half and used lime juice with a little stevia to sub for tamarind juice. I love all the ingredients that go into this and was disappointed when I ate it over plain chicken. Maybe that's not what it is for but might taste better with a Thai dish or Middle Eastern fare. Thanks, Peep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This came out very bitter. And the onion was over-powering. It was completely inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Try using just 3/4 cup mint and one jalapeno (with the seeds if you like more heat). -- Then, mix in a about 1/2 cup plain, full fat yogurt. Delicious on all kinds of stuff!. I've spent quite a bit of time in India and a dear friend taught me how to make hers. -- Once you try it, you find things to dip it in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
To the above recipe add half a tea spoon of sugar and a small piece of ginger. You could also add half a coconut grated and grind them all together....yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I used yogurt instead of water and excluded onion and lemon/tamarind juice. I find it good with fritters and fried spring rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nkp Mariscal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Very refreshing. Goes great with samosas. I will be making this again and again, and even started growing a mint plant just for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I LOVE mint chutney and always ask for extra whenever I go out for Indian food. I just had to try making at at home. This recipe is a great starter and that you can customize. I used lime juice instead of lemon - I think lime goes better with cilantro than lemon. I also added 6 oz of nonfat yogurt to help the flavors meld, and about 2 tbsp of vegetable broth (water seemed a little plain to me). I added 1 tbsp of Sriracha instead of the green pepper, and three cloves of garlic. Flavorful, delicious and the perfect match for crock pot chana masala!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Good recipe overall. I think it's important to play with it over time to get it to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I just made this and I have to say, it's one of the best mint chutneys I have ever eaten. I subbed out lime for the tamarind and added two cloves of garlic because I'm like that, but I digress, this will be my goto mint chutney recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Grilled Lamb with Mint Orange Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb chops with a minty orange marmalade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States