Mint Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This recipe turned out okay for me at first. After making it I thought the lemon over powered the mint and cilantro so I strained it in cheesecloth and let about 3 tablespoons of liquid out, replaced it with a little water and added a little sugar to taste, blended it in the chopper again. After doing this, I looked up other mint chutney recipes and they called for sugar. Maybe the tamarind juice would have been better, but I didn't have any. The end result was good, so I would suggest adding the lemon juice to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Very tasty, but I used rice vinegar instead of water, which added another dimension of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I was very excited to find this recipe and I followed it exactly. It tasted like pureed onion. Because the reviews are so good, I will definitely make this again. I'm wondering if there's a certain type of onion that needs to be used with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Excellent, simple recipe, with loads of good fresh chlorophyll and flavor. This recipe makes too much for us, though, so I halve the ingredients in this recipe and it's just right for two of us to have with a meal. (It doesn't store particularly well, so best to make it fresh and eat it all up.) :) We love it spicy, but when we eat it with another very spicy dish we leave out the chiles to offer some balance to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I love the flavor of this, and it's pretty fast to whip up too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I added about a teaspoon of honey, and a pinch of kosher salt, and that really brightened up all the flavors. Thanks for the recipe peep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
i love mint chutney, and this was delicious! i used it to eat with noni afghani (from this site), which is a little bland in itself. the mint chutney perked it right up, and it was one of the best i've had! i didn't need any water for some reason, the consistency was right all on it's own. the chile i had was kind of big, so it was a bit spicy - otherwise, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Very good! I'd like mine spicier so next time I'll add more chilies. Mine turned out a bit too salty for my taste so next time I'll add salt to taste after running everything else through the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is absolutely delicious. Tamarind isn't something you can get anywhere near where I live so I used a tbsp of (store-bought) tamarind chutney. This got raves at the party I took it to. I served it with samosas made with phyllo. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very sophisticated flavors. I used a little too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Grilled Lamb with Mint Orange Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb chops with a minty orange marmalade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States