Mint Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I thought this recipe did not come out very good. I took advice of the previous recipe and cut the onion in half and it still tasted like a bunch of ground up herbs. The onion is too overpowering, I think there are better mint chutney recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
STRONG!!!! Actually, I probably just put way too much mint in it, and I may or may not have used a jalapeno instead of a chile, so that would be the explanation. My advice, then, is to substitute extra mint for the cilantro and a jalapeno for the chile if you want something that will blow your tastebuds to mintland (which is actually kind of nice this time of year), and not to do that if you aren't interested in the mint-coma. WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe. I don't have a food processer, just finely chopped up everything - it was a little chunky but I'm fine with chunky. We eat it with our naan bread and Indian dishes (coconut tomato curry type dishes are the best with this chutney) but also good with crackers and cream cheese, pita bread and hummus or tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I was very excited to find this recipe and I followed it exactly. It tasted like pureed onion. Because the reviews are so good, I will definitely make this again. I'm wondering if there's a certain type of onion that needs to be used with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
i love mint chutney, and this was delicious! i used it to eat with noni afghani (from this site), which is a little bland in itself. the mint chutney perked it right up, and it was one of the best i've had! i didn't need any water for some reason, the consistency was right all on it's own. the chile i had was kind of big, so it was a bit spicy - otherwise, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is absolutely delicious. Tamarind isn't something you can get anywhere near where I live so I used a tbsp of (store-bought) tamarind chutney. This got raves at the party I took it to. I served it with samosas made with phyllo. YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very sophisticated flavors. I used a little too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I added about a teaspoon of honey, and a pinch of kosher salt, and that really brightened up all the flavors. Thanks for the recipe peep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Excellent, simple recipe, with loads of good fresh chlorophyll and flavor. This recipe makes too much for us, though, so I halve the ingredients in this recipe and it's just right for two of us to have with a meal. (It doesn't store particularly well, so best to make it fresh and eat it all up.) :) We love it spicy, but when we eat it with another very spicy dish we leave out the chiles to offer some balance to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Very good! I'd like mine spicier so next time I'll add more chilies. Mine turned out a bit too salty for my taste so next time I'll add salt to taste after running everything else through the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Grilled Lamb Chop with Fresh Mint Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb shoulder chops with homemade mint jelly.

Grilled Lamb with Mint Orange Jelly

See how to make grilled lamb chops with a minty orange marmalade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States