Mint Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was so good. I'm a huge mint and chocolate fan. I did it a little different, though. I used mini muffin cups and my pastry bag to make little individual layered candies. I also used white chocolate chips instead of the confectioner's coating. And I melted all of this in the microwave instead of on the stove. Turned out great and I'll definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dilley, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearsall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
The main problem with this recipe was with the layering. The chocolate layers should be cooked seperately because by the time you get to the second chocolate layer, the mixture you set aside at room temerature has set up and is not even spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
Great stuff! Reminds me of the Mint Meltaways from Fannie May. I didn't divide the chocolate into 2 layers though... it would have been impossible to spread after it cooled. Just used one thick chocolate layer and spread the mint layer on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
WOW! This is awesome! I did just two layers, made it in about twenty minutes on my lunch break. I didn't have green food coloring so crushed 4 candy canes and added that to the white part. Everyone says it tastes like it came right out of a candy store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This is a very good recipe. The store was out of confectioner's coating and so I used white chocolate. I melted the white chocolate over low heat with a T. of vegetable oil and then added the 1 T. peppermint extract. I was afraid the mint would be too strong (because it smelled strong), but it wasn't. I also took people's advice and made two separate batches of the chocolate layer so it wouldn't harden. I layered it choc., mint, choc. The white chocolate actually turned out, although it was a little bit harder than the chocolate layers. But it was a hit with my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pandaprissy
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
delicious... we used icing sugar though cuz we couldn't find the confectioner's coating, but it still tasted great! We doubled the amount of mint used, and it realli brought out the minty taste. A tip: smoothing out the melted choco chips with a wooden spoon will actually make the surface rougher, its better if the chocolate chips are melted more into a liquidy substance and let it fill the pan by itself. Family members and friends alike all enjoyed it! The absolute best recipe that I ever used! X)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
very! very! good!You can keep the chocolate warm by warming up a bigger pot with water, and put your chocolate pot inside the bigger pot when you are not using your chocolate and it will keep the chocolate from firming up.You can also use a candy pot which is a double pot for melting chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Washington, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I made a glaring error when I made this fudge: I used confectioner's sugar instead of confectioner's coating. Oops! However, I'm happy I made that mistake because the mint layer turned out gooey and soft, like a truffle filling. I think I prefer it that way! I love mint, so I'll definitely make this again. I might try the confectioner's coating this time though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Really good fudge, tastes just like andes mints, which I love. I took the suggestion and only made 2 layers. Next time, for presentation sake, I'll make the 2 chocolate layers separately, and do all 3 layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
I got rave reviews for this fudge. It looked great especially for Christmas time. I used mint chocolate chips instead of using the peppermint extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States