Mint Buttercream Frosting With Dark Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
A little confused. shouldn't there be a little bit of powdered sugar in the glaze to make it slightly sweetened. I love dark chocolate but it just seems extreme to not add any sweetner. I made this recipe right now and the frosting is delicious. if you don't like your mint to strong i recomend using 1/2 of a teaspoon and I added 3 Tablespoons powdered sugar to the glaze. it makes for a great presentation and I loved it on my brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I have made a recipe similar to this one for many years, but I have not made this one...so these are just some suggestions. The milk is not necessary. Use real butter only. Add the mint extract a little bit at a time until it is to your liking, as it can be very strong. I don't use unsweetened chocolate for the glaze. Milk chocolate works well. Don't forget the green food coloring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I started out with this recipe prepared to reduce the powdered sugar to 3 cups, maybe even less. I’ve made enough buttercream frostings to know the ratio of sugar to butter I prefer and this called for a little more sugar than that preferred ratio. However, the cupcakes I was to frost with this turned out to be not nearly as sweet as they should have been, leading me to decide instead to prepare the frosting as written, using all 4 cups of the powdered sugar called for. It’s awesome good, simple as that. Fluffy, pleasantly minty, not too sweet as I thought it would be, and it couldn’t have been more perfect for the chocolate cupcakes I frosted with it. I did have to add a little more milk (I used half and half) to get it to the right consistency. I didn’t use the chocolate glaze, only because it didn’t work with how I decorated the cupcakes but I can only imagine how even better this frosting would be with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I'm sorry but I really thought the frosting tasted like toothpaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
DELICIOUSNESS. In the spririt of full disclosure, I didn't make the glaze because I loved the frosting enough on its own, and the mixed reviews on it made me a little wary. Also, I had a lot left over after icing my (Too Much Chocolate) cake, so I went a little overboard on decorating the cake. I didn't think it was too sweet at all, but my sweet tooth is still as legendary as it was when I was six and would have had an all-sugar diet had it been permissable. I started scooping up the leftovers and eating them straight (not such a good idea; the mint started to do a tap-dance on my tastebuds, but oh well). It looks lovely (colored it yellow because I was out of all the other colors), both spreads and pipes like a dream. HOWEVER, it did almost give me a heart attack when it jammed my beater right after I added the milk. This icing means business. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
the frosting is wonderful... I added green food coloring as well to liven it up. However, the glaze is gross. It was way too bitter for my taste. I ended up adding a bit of milk and more sugar to make it into a chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chantal Colby
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was great! Got so many compliments, and many people have asked for the recipe. I used the frosting on a delicious chocolate cake, so in order to not have too much chocolate, I left out the chocolate glaze. I also added the mint extract a little bit at a time so I could make it just minty enough for me. Then I added water instead of milk to thin out the consistency because the milk messes with the color. I definitely had to add more than 4Tbs to get the icing thin enough to frost my cake, it just depends what you are using it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantal Colby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was SO GOOD! I followed the recipe exactly, only made the frosting, didn't need the glaze. The mint was not too strong and didn't overpower the flavor. Don't add anymore or it might be too intense! Made the frosting to cover the One Bowl Chocolate Cake III from this site. The flavors went together perfectly and everybody that tasted it LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
At first, the mint buttercream seemed a bit too sweet, but after the chocolate glaze is added, it worked great. I used this frosting with a simple chocolate cake, with thin mints between the layers. The result was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is so good! I put it on Devil's Food cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States