Mint Buttercream Frosting With Dark Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out great. I did add about three drops of green food coloring just to give it more of a minty effect. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DairyQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Best frosting ever! I think I'll make a batch and turn them into peppermint patties by making the frosting a bit thick, shaping them, and dipping in a double or triple batch of the glaze. Couple of minor changes. First I used 1/4 the amount of peppermint extract called for as I use candy making peppermint oil. I also doubled the glaze and added 1/4 c powdered sugar (could've used a bit more). I used this to frost the "Too Much Chocolate Cake" on this site. BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Not very good...i will never make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aLittleDessert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Loved this on top of our brownies. I then topped with some crushed candy canes for a great little holiday treat! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lil creamy
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil creamy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Made the frosting exactly as directed (using skim milk) and it was delicious. I used it on boxed brownies. For the glaze, I melted some Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate chips with a tablespoon or so of canola oil and drizzled it over the top. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isaac's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by u62philo
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I did not make the glaze. I made this for a mint chocolate chip cake. I had to tinker with this a lot, but I always do with homemade frosting. I taste it, add something, taste it again, add something, etc. This is great to start with but you may find you need more mint, then more sugar, then more milk. Also, I'm rating this a 5 based on my boyfriend's and friends' reactions, as I do not like chocolate and mint together. Everyone else loved it and gobbled it down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by u62philo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
0 for the glaze. The frosting taste was pretty good. The consistency was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I didn't make the glaze, just the frosting, but it was still amazing! I actually used 5 tablespoons of milk instead of 4 because it seemed too thick with just 4. I also only used 1/2 a teaspoon of mint extract and it tasted perfect! I will most definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Definitely good! I did add a bit of extra extract, as I wanted a bit more mint taste and was putting this as a filling between two chocolate cookies! :) Thanks for the recipe, will def use again! :) One more note, I did not do the chocolate glaze part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33

Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States