Mint Buttercream Frosting With Dark Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Chantal Colby
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was great! Got so many compliments, and many people have asked for the recipe. I used the frosting on a delicious chocolate cake, so in order to not have too much chocolate, I left out the chocolate glaze. I also added the mint extract a little bit at a time so I could make it just minty enough for me. Then I added water instead of milk to thin out the consistency because the milk messes with the color. I definitely had to add more than 4Tbs to get the icing thin enough to frost my cake, it just depends what you are using it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantal Colby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I started out with this recipe prepared to reduce the powdered sugar to 3 cups, maybe even less. I’ve made enough buttercream frostings to know the ratio of sugar to butter I prefer and this called for a little more sugar than that preferred ratio. However, the cupcakes I was to frost with this turned out to be not nearly as sweet as they should have been, leading me to decide instead to prepare the frosting as written, using all 4 cups of the powdered sugar called for. It’s awesome good, simple as that. Fluffy, pleasantly minty, not too sweet as I thought it would be, and it couldn’t have been more perfect for the chocolate cupcakes I frosted with it. I did have to add a little more milk (I used half and half) to get it to the right consistency. I didn’t use the chocolate glaze, only because it didn’t work with how I decorated the cupcakes but I can only imagine how even better this frosting would be with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Funny, I was looking for a good frosting for a chocolate mayonnaise cake, and saw this and decided it would do. And THEN I read Brenda's description of the recipe. PERFECT! But, instead of doing the separate glaze, I decided to just go half on the last two ingredients, so I used just 1 unsweetened chocolate square and 1T of butter. I added this to the frosting, and skipped the final 2T of milk. LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is so good! I put it on Devil's Food cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Very good. Followed recipe exactly as written and it turned out perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Girard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was awesome the first time i tried to make buttercream frosting the recipe I used had me use way too much milk but this turned out great and I put it on top of brownies and sprinkled andes mint pieces on to top too. SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joni
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Sensational! My son requested this for his 9th birthday party. I made chocolate cupcakes with this mint frosting and garnished with Andies mints and chocolate sprinkles. They were a huge hit! Will make this icing again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
My rating is for the frosting party only. I did not add the chocolate sauce on top. I thought the texture of the frosting was good. I did not use mint extract because I didn't have any. I only had peppermint oil and for the entire recipe it only took one drop and it was perfect. I will be making it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Wow! This frosting was so good! I made to go on a batch of 8x8 brownies, cutting back a little on the amount of ingredients. I skipped the chocolate glaze and drizzled chocolate syrup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy a.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mount Tabor, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
yum! reall good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racingrussells5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States