Mint Buttercream Frosting With Dark Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made just the frosting, not the glaze to go on some cupcakes I made. I thought the flavor was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I used this frosting to top some chocolate fudge, it was great. The fudge was in an 8 by 8 pan so I cut the recipe down to 3 cups sugar, 6 T. butter a pinch of salt 1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract and about 1.5 tablespoons milk. The frosting was perfect for the fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was great on the "Too much Chocolate, Chocolate Cake"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Yum! Makes a nice fluffy frosting with a strong minty flavor. The glaze does cut the sweetness and it's a real "Wow" factor as far as presentation goes! This is a fav with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
DELICIOUSNESS. In the spririt of full disclosure, I didn't make the glaze because I loved the frosting enough on its own, and the mixed reviews on it made me a little wary. Also, I had a lot left over after icing my (Too Much Chocolate) cake, so I went a little overboard on decorating the cake. I didn't think it was too sweet at all, but my sweet tooth is still as legendary as it was when I was six and would have had an all-sugar diet had it been permissable. I started scooping up the leftovers and eating them straight (not such a good idea; the mint started to do a tap-dance on my tastebuds, but oh well). It looks lovely (colored it yellow because I was out of all the other colors), both spreads and pipes like a dream. HOWEVER, it did almost give me a heart attack when it jammed my beater right after I added the milk. This icing means business. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Fabulous! This icing was absolutely perfect on Peppermint Chiffon Cake from this site. I put some green food coloring in and just drizzled the glaze over the top of the cake and let it spill over the sides. Turned out very pretty. I did add 3 Tbsp of powdered sugar to my glaze and we thought it tasted excellent. Also needed a splash more milk because it's a very thick frosting. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I thought this was a great simple buttercream. I made a decadent chocolate (flourless)cake since I am getting ready for Passover and wanted something different for the frosting. I had been on a ganache kick lately so it was a nice change. I didn't have mint extract but I had some Ovation Chocolate Mint Candies. I put these through the mini processor to crumble them up and they made a great addition to the recipe. Also added the green food coloring and with the chocolate specks from the candies it was a perfect combination. Since I used the candies, I omitted the glaze. Only use real butter when baking. I sprinkled some green sugar on top to make it festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treehuggr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hernando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was SO GOOD! I followed the recipe exactly, only made the frosting, didn't need the glaze. The mint was not too strong and didn't overpower the flavor. Don't add anymore or it might be too intense! Made the frosting to cover the One Bowl Chocolate Cake III from this site. The flavors went together perfectly and everybody that tasted it LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was totally worth making again, except I found it to be a little bit too sweet, but the perfect minty-ness. I used it on chocolate devil cake without the glaze, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovestheSky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
The mint buttercream is simple and good. I used salted butter and omitted the 1/8 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States