Mint Buttercream Frosting With Dark Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
At first, the mint buttercream seemed a bit too sweet, but after the chocolate glaze is added, it worked great. I used this frosting with a simple chocolate cake, with thin mints between the layers. The result was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This was good for something different. I used it on the peppermint chiffon cake (on this site). I think it would be good on a plain chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
the frosting is wonderful... I added green food coloring as well to liven it up. However, the glaze is gross. It was way too bitter for my taste. I ended up adding a bit of milk and more sugar to make it into a chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
A little confused. shouldn't there be a little bit of powdered sugar in the glaze to make it slightly sweetened. I love dark chocolate but it just seems extreme to not add any sweetner. I made this recipe right now and the frosting is delicious. if you don't like your mint to strong i recomend using 1/2 of a teaspoon and I added 3 Tablespoons powdered sugar to the glaze. it makes for a great presentation and I loved it on my brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I used this frosting to top some chocolate fudge, it was great. The fudge was in an 8 by 8 pan so I cut the recipe down to 3 cups sugar, 6 T. butter a pinch of salt 1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract and about 1.5 tablespoons milk. The frosting was perfect for the fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KeiJoy
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
It was very good. Very sweet, so the bitter chocolate went well. I actually used bittersweet chocolate. I also added a few tablespoons of white sugar to the chocolate glaze. It was little grainy, so next time I will add the sugar earlier. I baked a dark chocolate cake, and layered with a little of the mint frosting, and some chocolate mint cookies. Then made the frosting a pale green, frosted the whole cake, and poured the glaze over it. It was beautiful. Next time I want to try mint patties in the layers (yum). :cD Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was great on the "Too much Chocolate, Chocolate Cake"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Yum! Makes a nice fluffy frosting with a strong minty flavor. The glaze does cut the sweetness and it's a real "Wow" factor as far as presentation goes! This is a fav with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
DELICIOUSNESS. In the spririt of full disclosure, I didn't make the glaze because I loved the frosting enough on its own, and the mixed reviews on it made me a little wary. Also, I had a lot left over after icing my (Too Much Chocolate) cake, so I went a little overboard on decorating the cake. I didn't think it was too sweet at all, but my sweet tooth is still as legendary as it was when I was six and would have had an all-sugar diet had it been permissable. I started scooping up the leftovers and eating them straight (not such a good idea; the mint started to do a tap-dance on my tastebuds, but oh well). It looks lovely (colored it yellow because I was out of all the other colors), both spreads and pipes like a dream. HOWEVER, it did almost give me a heart attack when it jammed my beater right after I added the milk. This icing means business. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
The chocolate glaze was VERY bitter on it's own but tasted alright in small quantities on the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Steph

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States