Mint Buttercream Frosting With Dark Chocolate Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe was melt in your mouth A-M-A-Z-I-N-G !! I also added neon green for colouring to liven it up!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This was very good frosting, but I about halved the amount of mint in the frosting and added one forth teaspoon of vanilla extract to up the sweetness. I didn't really measure my milk, just put it in until the consistency was were I wanted it. I also added green food coloring to get it a light green. On top of a chocolate cake/cupcake this tastes soo good! Kind of like Andes chocolate mints. Just tweak it a little and build off of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This frosting sounds great but, reviewing the recipe I noticed the picture of the frosting is light green but, the recipe calls for no green food color? How is that? How much color do I add or was an ingredient left out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
In general this is a good recipe but there is WAY too much mint extract in the frosting. I added the entire teaspoon and the frosting tasted like tooth paste. I had to discard and remake with less mint extract. Add a little at a time to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I used 1/2 tsp of mint extract.. turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is just okay, and I love mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
way to much mint flavor ... although the chocolate glaze helps it just didnt help enough ... I really had high hopes for this recipe ... I'm not going to give up yet ... I think with some "tweaking" it could be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beallboysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is my "go to" cupcake filling recipe. I've used many different flavors instead of the mint extract. The frosting has a great thickness for the center of my cupcakes. Tip: add more extract than what it calls for based on your taste, and color to match flavor (i.e. cherry color red)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistythayer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Tasted a little toothpaste like had to add more powdered sugar and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kaiser

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Chantal Colby
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was great! Got so many compliments, and many people have asked for the recipe. I used the frosting on a delicious chocolate cake, so in order to not have too much chocolate, I left out the chocolate glaze. I also added the mint extract a little bit at a time so I could make it just minty enough for me. Then I added water instead of milk to thin out the consistency because the milk messes with the color. I definitely had to add more than 4Tbs to get the icing thin enough to frost my cake, it just depends what you are using it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantal Colby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States