Minnesota's Favorite Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipe! Mine didn't spread out much, so I wonder if substituting butter-flavored shortening would make them flat like regular chocolate chip cookies and not a clump like mine turned out). The taste was outstanding. When I made them for a staff meeting, everyone had difficulty trying to stop eating them, and one guy got a stomach ache from eating so many! I would say these are the ultimate chocolate chip cookie! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
OK...seriously...Barb, could you be any more of a genius? This recipe was to DIE for. These cookies were hard to stop eating. Ask my husband. Hubby ate the whole tin full before I could offer any of my friends one. Hmmm... A true husband pleaser. I also got whatever I wanted after making these cookies for him. He even cleaned out the garage. Nice! Thanks Barb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Good cookies! My husband enjoyed them. To lower fat and calories I used margarine; half the amount of milk chocolate chips; have the amount of nuts (used walnuts) and toasted them then ground them. Without these changes cookies would be even better! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Mixed reviews again from our house. I tried one, then reserved my review until Hubs was able to try one too and offer his review, which I fully expected would be different than mine. It's an attractive enough cookie, and I appreciate that they baked up to a nice thickness - not flat, but not cakey poofs either. As I do with all cookie doughs made with butter, I chilled the dough for about an hour till it was somewhat firm. But I thought these were too soft (but then I don't care for soft cookies) - if I was to make them again I'd use half white and half brown sugar to help with that. They also had just a tad too much "stuff" in them for me - "stuff" overload. My vote is three stars, for being too soft with too much of the chips, toffee and nuts. But I figured that exactly what I DIDN'T like about these cookies would be the very things Hubs did. Sure enough - as he was chewing he held up 5 fingers (rare). He said what he liked about them was that that they were gooey (my "too much stuff") and soft. Tastes and reviews are so subjective! Four star average between the two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
THE HIT OF THE SEASON! Not a soul who tried one of these couldn't pass on seconds! I did use 1c brown sugar ~ 1/2c wht. Also, we purchased a bag of milk choc chips that also had Christmas Trees and Red stocking shapes mixed in and used the whole bag of that instead of combining semi-sweet & milk choc (also making them look more festive). Finally, I did half a batch w/ pecans and half w/out (therefore only using 1/2c pecans). Even non-cookie lovers (like myself) had snatched a handful here and there. Thanks a bunch Barb. Every Minnesotan I served to agreed to these being the best on my platter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
These cookies were delicious and I will definitely make them again. I've already been asked for the recipe too. My only problem was that I couldn't find actual toffee baking bits, so I crushed Heath bars and used those instead. They worked fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I decided to surprise my husband with these (he's originally from Minnesota). They were wonderful & chewy gooey- just the way I like them. Between the two of us and our daughter, we scarfed down all the cookies within 2-3 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I was really disappointed with this cookie...it sounded so good, but it just didn't taste right to me. I think it was the brown sugar cookie base that I didn't like. If all these toppings were in a regular, chewy cookie I'd have liked it better...definately not making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I was disappointed with the way this cookie turned out. Maybe my butter was too soft because the cookies were flat and brown, although the flavor was still pretty good. I'm going to give it one more shot before I decide to keep or toss this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This cookie is very good! It was soft and chewy and tasted great warm! I followed some other reviewers and used ½ sugar and ½ brown sugar. I had better luck cooking the cookies for 10 minutes then taking them out of the oven and leaving them on the cookie sheet a couple of minutes. It seemed like they just got too done when I cooked them in the oven for 11 or 12 minutes. Thanks for a good cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States