Minnesota Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I went about this a bit differently, cutting back on the broth and eliminating the flour. I added some leftover petite peas to add color. Very nice on a cold night. Thanks, chel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I really liked this recipe a lot. I used milk instead of cream, added potatoes and halved the flour. I also added the flour with the broth, premixed with water to avoid chunkiness. It worked out really well. Perfect thickness and not fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
My family loves this soup, and it's very easy, so I'm giving it 5 stars. I added some different vegetables to it than what is listed, in addition to those listed. We are recently trying to eat a more vegetarian diet, and it's great to find recipes even a 2 year old loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I really wanted to like this soup but it tasted boring. I'm wondering if it's all the flour it calls for. I added salt & thyme (recommended. Y another reviewer ) but that didn't do much either. It seems to lack depth of flavor. It I'm not sure what else to add in order to get that. I added mushrooms-they were good in it but again didn't substantially change the flavor. I'm not giving up on this soup because I love wild rice soup and don't want to add meat because I'm vegetarian. Guess I wil just keep experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I was so excited to try this - a throw back to the old Byerly's wild rice soup I loved to eat growing up in Minnesota. But this soup was suffocatingly thick and lacked any depth of flavor. Even after I salted it within an inch of its life and added 1.5 cups extra stock to thin it out. Maybe it was the lack of meat, but I think the huge quantity of flour was the real problem. If I ever try it again I'll reduce the flour to 1/4 cup at most and add in some thyme, Sherry or Vermouth and a hit of lemon for interest. More French and less Minnesota, perhaps, but at least edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I love this recipe. I've made it for my CC crew multiple times to show them good Midwestern cooking and it's one of the favorites. It is hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very tasty! I added diced ham and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowlands, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I used this recipe as a base—we’re not vegetarian so there were some adjustments. I sautéed an onion and two cloves of (minced) garlic; then added a little over a cup of each sliced carrots and diced celery. I forgot about the roux, so it was made in a separate pan (3 tablespoons of butter, ¼ of flour plus a little olive oil to smooth it out—I think a cup of flour would’ve been WAY too much. Then a little chicken stock was added to thin it out) while the vegetables cooked. To the pot of veggies I added (4 cups total, including what was added to the roux) chicken stock, 3/4 Cup White Wine, 1 Cup Heavy Cream, 1 Cup Skim Milk, a (VERY) large chicken breast (cooked with some water and McCormick Garlic Pepper Grinder seasoning, then shredded), Fancy Minnesota Wild Rice (I go “home” to Minnesota for the Holidays each year and stock up on Wild Rice—I cooked the rice according to the package plus 2 Tablespoons of butter and maybe 2 teaspoons of the Garlic Pepper Grinder blend). I added the roux to the pot, gave it all a stir then added 1 Cup (sliced) Baby Bella Mushrooms plus a large (fresh) Rosemary sprig and 5-6 (fresh) sprigs of Thyme, seasoned with fresh ground sea salt and pepper (to taste)—this simmered for a half hour or so. When served, we sprinkled some (cooked, then crumbled) bacon on top. My boyfriend gobbled up two bowls (in the time I ate my one) only taking time to breathe and tell me how good it was…I say it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mainland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I really wanted to like this soup, but it was just kind of blah, and I think it's because of all the flour. I've made a roux-based soup before, and it was pretty good, but I think it's because it had tomatoes in it. This soup is edible, but if I were to make it again, I would maybe add tomatoes or thicken it with tomato paste or mashed potato flakes or maybe use cream of mushroom soup. I did add some dried parsley and thyme, which helped a little with the flavor, and also added a little corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I absolutely love Wild Rice, and this recipe really makes it shine. I was out of onions, so I used 1 shallot with the white part of some scallions - I also used high quality chicken stock (I'm not vegetarian). So many variations will work with this. In the future, I think I might add some sausage or smoked ham. Fresh corn would also work really well - and a little butter blended with the flour. A simple, delicious all-American recipe - and don't forget some nice crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States