Minnesota Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Nice, warm soup on a very cold nice - this fit the bill. I didn't measure the onions, celery or carrots. I just chopped and shredded and used what I felt was a good amount. Can't really have too many veggies in this soup. I had homemade chicken stock in the freezer that I used in place of vegetable broth. I'm not sure why so many complain of it being too thick with 1 cup flour. Once I added the broth, it thicken nicely and with 2 additional cups of half and half, it was a very nice consistency. I thought I had half and half and it wasn't, it was heavy cream. I used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup skim milk in place of the half and half. Served 'Herb Buttermilk Biscuits' from AR with the soup and we enjoyed a very nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Everyone loved this wild rice soup! would definitely make it again. only thing different was no carrots, we only had canned carrots and I couldn't bring myself to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charnelle Gill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
too much flour and no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I went about this a bit differently, cutting back on the broth and eliminating the flour. I added some leftover petite peas to add color. Very nice on a cold night. Thanks, chel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I really liked this recipe a lot. I used milk instead of cream, added potatoes and halved the flour. I also added the flour with the broth, premixed with water to avoid chunkiness. It worked out really well. Perfect thickness and not fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
My family loves this soup, and it's very easy, so I'm giving it 5 stars. I added some different vegetables to it than what is listed, in addition to those listed. We are recently trying to eat a more vegetarian diet, and it's great to find recipes even a 2 year old loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I really wanted to like this soup but it tasted boring. I'm wondering if it's all the flour it calls for. I added salt & thyme (recommended. Y another reviewer ) but that didn't do much either. It seems to lack depth of flavor. It I'm not sure what else to add in order to get that. I added mushrooms-they were good in it but again didn't substantially change the flavor. I'm not giving up on this soup because I love wild rice soup and don't want to add meat because I'm vegetarian. Guess I wil just keep experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I was so excited to try this - a throw back to the old Byerly's wild rice soup I loved to eat growing up in Minnesota. But this soup was suffocatingly thick and lacked any depth of flavor. Even after I salted it within an inch of its life and added 1.5 cups extra stock to thin it out. Maybe it was the lack of meat, but I think the huge quantity of flour was the real problem. If I ever try it again I'll reduce the flour to 1/4 cup at most and add in some thyme, Sherry or Vermouth and a hit of lemon for interest. More French and less Minnesota, perhaps, but at least edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissa Weldon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I love this recipe. I've made it for my CC crew multiple times to show them good Midwestern cooking and it's one of the favorites. It is hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very tasty! I added diced ham and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowlands, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States