Minnesota Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This turned out pretty good-- and was easy to make. I added the broth shortly after mixing in the flour just because there was so much flour and no moisture in the pot, and everything turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Thought this was kind of bland. I had Parmesan cheese in the fridge, and threw some in - was just the ticket to give it a little zing. Now, it's excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This is a VERY tasty soup and a full meal with some bread or rolls on the side! I added ham to give it some meat and more flavor and I didn't use the spice or celery and it still turned out incredibly delicious! My husband wants to have this soup often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKTebbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This soup was so good. My family and I are lactose intolerant so I substituted milk with Silk soy milk; it tasted great this way! I also added some ham to it so it would taste more like home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
It was great. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This was a wonderful soup, but because I didn't have some of the ingrdients, I had to change it a little. I omitted the almonds, substituted some very rich homemade turkey broth for the vegetable broth and added some mushrooms. My husband actually asked me to make it again, which is something he usually doesn't do! Thanks for posting a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I absolutely love Wild Rice, and this recipe really makes it shine. I was out of onions, so I used 1 shallot with the white part of some scallions - I also used high quality chicken stock (I'm not vegetarian). So many variations will work with this. In the future, I think I might add some sausage or smoked ham. Fresh corn would also work really well - and a little butter blended with the flour. A simple, delicious all-American recipe - and don't forget some nice crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I really wanted to like this soup, but it was just kind of blah, and I think it's because of all the flour. I've made a roux-based soup before, and it was pretty good, but I think it's because it had tomatoes in it. This soup is edible, but if I were to make it again, I would maybe add tomatoes or thicken it with tomato paste or mashed potato flakes or maybe use cream of mushroom soup. I did add some dried parsley and thyme, which helped a little with the flavor, and also added a little corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I used this recipe as a base—we’re not vegetarian so there were some adjustments. I sautéed an onion and two cloves of (minced) garlic; then added a little over a cup of each sliced carrots and diced celery. I forgot about the roux, so it was made in a separate pan (3 tablespoons of butter, ¼ of flour plus a little olive oil to smooth it out—I think a cup of flour would’ve been WAY too much. Then a little chicken stock was added to thin it out) while the vegetables cooked. To the pot of veggies I added (4 cups total, including what was added to the roux) chicken stock, 3/4 Cup White Wine, 1 Cup Heavy Cream, 1 Cup Skim Milk, a (VERY) large chicken breast (cooked with some water and McCormick Garlic Pepper Grinder seasoning, then shredded), Fancy Minnesota Wild Rice (I go “home” to Minnesota for the Holidays each year and stock up on Wild Rice—I cooked the rice according to the package plus 2 Tablespoons of butter and maybe 2 teaspoons of the Garlic Pepper Grinder blend). I added the roux to the pot, gave it all a stir then added 1 Cup (sliced) Baby Bella Mushrooms plus a large (fresh) Rosemary sprig and 5-6 (fresh) sprigs of Thyme, seasoned with fresh ground sea salt and pepper (to taste)—this simmered for a half hour or so. When served, we sprinkled some (cooked, then crumbled) bacon on top. My boyfriend gobbled up two bowls (in the time I ate my one) only taking time to breathe and tell me how good it was…I say it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mainland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very tasty! I added diced ham and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowlands, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States