Minnesota Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This is a good recipe. I have been making some thing similar to this for years. I used this recipe and it works the best with pork steak, because of the long cooking time (they're thicker). If you want to cut cooking time, using precooked wild rice is an option or using only long grain white rice is another. There are a few other variations. You can try substituting the cream of mushroom soup with mushroom gravy, adding your own mushrooms if you like. Optionally, you can add a half cup to a cup of sour cream to the gravy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
These were yummy! I did as suggested and used the seasoning for the rice instead of boullion. I used 1 can of mushroom soup and 2 cups of water, baked 2 hrs. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Pork chops extremely bland, just no taste at all. Rice was creamy and tasty, next time I'll just make the rice w/cream of mushroom soup as a side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Pork chops were so moist, but I think using chicken stock in place of the water and adding sauted onions and almonds would help. Good but a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I liked parts of this meal. The rice was cooked perfectly and tasted great. My husband asked if there was more rice. I did not like the pork chops. They were dry and bland. My husband even got out a bottle of BBQ sauce to "fix" them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I thought this was wonderful. I used fresh mushrooms and just sauteed them a bit before adding them. I also used low fat soup and this was full of flavor. I used bone in chops, which I have come to realize are so much better than the thick sliced boneless loin chops which usually end up dry and tough. I cooked this for 1-1/2 hrs. My chops were so tender and not dry at all. My rice was a bit soggy but it didn't bother me at all - I'll just add a bit more rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Delicious!! I even used fat free cream of mushroom soup and it was still a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissB
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
One of my favorite ways to fix pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
The easiest recipe and so good. I used boneless chops and they were not dried out. I also use chicken stock instead of the cubes and I use sauteed onions and mushrooms instead of canned mushrooms. I've made this once for my family, once for my neighbors and passed the recipe along to others.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Nice find. Very comforting and, from a legit Minnesotan, very tasty! Use Uncle Ben's rice and 2 cups of water for a worthwile shortcut and similar results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TILO0002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States