Minnesota Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
We've used this excact recipe for years!! We do cut back on the chicken Bouillon though, tad to salty for us...and switched to boneless chops. Wonderful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Excellent recipe. The only change was I used uncooked white rice, 1 chicken bouillon cube and I sprinkled 1/4 package of dry onion soup mix on the top before covering and baking. My husband and 4 year old absolutely loved dinner tonight. I will definitely make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This recipe is just so yummy and so easy! I never seem to have all of the ingredients, so I haven't actually made it yet where I followed the full recipe. I used cream of celery soup one time and I have never added the can of mushrooms, but it is still easy and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
A new favorite in our house! I like to use a mixture of white, wild and brown rice with a liberal amount of garlic. I have tried a vegetarian version of this by browning big portabello mushrooms in the frying pan and adding to this dish instead of the pork chops! UPDATE: added fresh parmesan to the vegetarian version and WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Sorry, this one wasn't anything special. I followed the recipe exactly. Too salty, the pork was dry and the rice mushy. Even the hubby who usually eats everything only had half a pork chop and a couple bites of rice, then said he wasn't hungry, but was munching on chips a half hour later. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I'm from Minnesota and this recipe is perfect for supper on a cold winter night! I made it using 5 boneless pork chops. Instead of the wild rice and chicken bouillon, I used a box of Uncle Ben's Original Wild & Long Grain Rice and the seasoning packet. I added 1 3/4 cups water and baked covered for 1.5 hours. It was delicious! My hubby and my son loved it! Using 5 pork chops and the Uncle Ben's rice, I determined there are 350 calories per serving (with 5 servings). Next time I think I might add a little extra water and maybe an extra can of cream of mushroom soup for creamier rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is a good basic comfort food recipe. Very easy to prepare. I used 2 boxes of Uncle Bens rice. I used the amount of water called for on the boxes of rice but decreased the amount of water by about 1/2 cup based on other's reviews. (I used 2-1/2 c of water) I didn't add the bouillon cubes since I used the season packets in the rice. I also used cream of chicken on top bc I didn't have mushroom. I prepared it before I went to work, and my husband put it in the oven when he got home. We cooked it for 2 hours covered and it was probably done before that. The rice did get cooked in my dish. I liked the ease of the recipe. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I have to say being a Minnesotan, this is one of my comfort foods. This is one of the first things I ever learned to make. I love wild rice! Pork chops in mushroom gravy is a staple in every Minnesotans home. It's a food that will grow on you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My family really wasn't impressed with this dish even with using some of the other reviewers recommendations. While the rice was tasty, it can be made on its own with the same ingredients and take less time. The chops themselves were quite tender but so dry that they were inedible. This is a dish that just simply should not be made together. Follow the Campbell's soup recipe for the pork chops and make the rice seperate and then you will have a good meal. I still gave 2 stars for the tenderness of the chops and flavor of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chapin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Turned out great...I added a 1/2 cup of white rice to the recipe and I think that it enhanced the flavor of the wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States