Minnesota Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Good, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I used pork tenderloin and the meal was so moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is a great recipe, but I made a few changes. I used pork steaks because they are more tender than chops, I used Uncle Ben's Whole Grain & Wild Rice Mushroom Recipe in place of the wild rice. I used less than half of the seasoning packet that came with the rice because of the sodium in the mushroom soup. I used about a cup of chicken stock mixed with 1/2 can of mushroom soup instead of the chicken bouillon. I precooked the rice and stock in a 9x13 pan at 350' while I browned the pork steaks (seasoned with Paula Deens house seasoning) in olive oil on top of the stove about 4 minutes per side. I then placed a can of mushrooms on top of the rice, then placed the steaks on top of the mushrooms and poured 1 1/2 cans of mushroom soup blended with 1/2 can milk on top of the steaks and threw some left over green beans on top for color. I let it bake for about an hour at 350'. The pork steaks turned out very tender and the rice absorbed enough of the liquid so that it wasn't soupy. It tasted fantastic!! This recipe also works with chicken, I like to use boneless skinless chicken thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Was pretty good- made some alterations. With 3 pork chops(boneless)I added 6 oz. of wild rice, a tsp. of chick bouillon to 3/4 c. water, can of cream of mushroom, and cooked on 350 for 1 hr and 20 minutes. Pork chops were dry, but rice was delicious. I did do as the directions say and brown the pork chops slightly, I don't think that is necessary for boneless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
These were very good. I cooked some onions in garlic in a little olive oil and put these on top of the chops before covering with the soup. I also sprinkled the chops with Thyme. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Easy and Tasty! I sauteed some onions and mushrooms (fresh NOT canned), and I used 1 cup of vegetable stock and 1/2 cup water instead of using bouillon. I also used Boneless Thick Pork Chops as I was concerned about everything cooking evenly. Everything came out very well. The Pork Chops were perfect and the rice was tender. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean R. Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
My mouth is watering just thinking about these pork chops. Didn't change a thing in the recipe. Unbelievably good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eliza801
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
3 stars as is. The rice burnt a little being on the bottom of the pan. It was tasty overall, but the long grain wild rice hurts your teeth when it isn't cooked! I will try again with pilaf, and I'll mix the rice into the mushroom soup. Recipe called for 1 regular can of mushroom soup. I used a family sized can because we like the creamy texture it lends the rice. Good, quick, homemade comfort food - but like any recipe, needs to be made again to perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eliza801

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This is a wonderful pork chop dish! The first time I made it the chops came out tender but rather dry, so I tried brining the pork chops and it makes all the difference. However, this means that you have to be careful how much salt you add--I only seasoned my chops with pepper before browning them and the dish still came out on the salty side. I would recommend making this with two cans of low-sodium cream of mushroom soup and using low-sodium chicken broth instead of the water and chicken bouillon granules (I also added extra canned mushrooms). Since I couldn't find wild rice, I used a box of Rice-a-Roni wild rice and added another 1/2 cup of white rice. This dish is the very definition of comfort food! I served it with orange-glazed carrots and it made for a very simple and satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This was delicious! Made this in the crock-pot because I didn't want to turn the oven on. Like others I used chicken broth instead of water and I also used cream of mushroom with roasted garlic soup. I cooked this on low for almost 5 hours and the pork came out so tender and juicy. The rice was a little mushy but that's because it was done in the Crock-pot. We will surely be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States