Minnesota Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Charcoal Griller
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe. I have never been able to follow it exactly, but my pork always comes out moist and tender. The only thing I really change is the seasoning on the chops and the wild rice. I vary the chop seasoning based on my taste for the night (sometimes Italian seasoning sometimes a packaged rub, etc.). I have never used the wild rice but always have some flavored rice packages on hand. One of the best was a parmesan cheese rice. Be careful as this can be salty if you get the combo wrong (bouillon, rice flavoring and chop seasoning). I always use boneless loin chops and have used anywhere from 4 to 6. You will not be disappointed! One more thing. I made this soon after thanksgiving so I had some "fried onions" on hand. You know the kind that go on green bean casserole. I added them with about 5 or 10 minutes left to bake. They were a great add on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charcoal Griller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefCharlette
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very Good. I used 1/2 inch thick boneless chops, I also added 3 cloves of garlic minced. 3/4 cup diced onion. Which I am glad I did. The reason I could not give this 5 stars is because it was to salty. I would next time cut the chicken bouillon granules in half to a 1/2 TBS. Also for the rice and the chops, I only had to cook for 1 hour. I would check it after the first hour, otherwise you might end up with dry meat and overcooked rice. Great recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefCharlette
Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was great!! Restaurant quality in my book. I used pork steaks instead of chops and Uncle Bens for the rice. The steaks were so tender they practically feel right off the bone! This is a great recipe and I'm so glad I tried it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I used french onion soup mix instead of bullion, and I would check the pork chops regularly and put some sauce on them to help prevent dry out. I think next time I'll cook the pork chops under the rice and see if that helps. Overall though, this was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I agree with the others that said the rice is very good, but the pork chops are not so great. I used bone-in chops, but they still turned out very dry and pretty tasteless. I followed the recipe, except used basmati rice. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Prior to making this recipe I read many of its reviews. As recommended, I used Uncle Ben's Long Grain and Wild Rice with its seasonings, great choice. However, many of the reviews also commented that this dish is quite salty, so I used 2 tins of Campbell's low salt Cream of Mushroom soup. Unfortunately it was still too salty. But despite the saltiness, this meal has great flavor and its easy to prepare. So I will make it again in the near future using only use one tin of soup plus a cup of mayo or sour cream to cut the saltiness (we like the sauciness of the rice that the 2 tins make so don't want to lose that). I will also add slices of carrot to give it color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Nothing says Minnesota like an easy dinner with cream of mushroom & wild rice! Total comfort food. SUPER easy - could have used double the amount of mushrooms and soup to make it extra good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I didn't like it that much. The pork chops were bland and I didn't care for them being cooked so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This casserole was fabulous! My kids loved it too! I used white long grain rice because i didn't have wild rice in the pantry. This one's a keeper, very moist, warm, and tender pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This is a good recipe. I have been making some thing similar to this for years. I used this recipe and it works the best with pork steak, because of the long cooking time (they're thicker). If you want to cut cooking time, using precooked wild rice is an option or using only long grain white rice is another. There are a few other variations. You can try substituting the cream of mushroom soup with mushroom gravy, adding your own mushrooms if you like. Optionally, you can add a half cup to a cup of sour cream to the gravy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States