Minnesota Golf Course Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This was my recipe of choice for the Super Bowl. I used 2 cans of the diced tomatoes with onion, celery, & green pepper.(14 oz) (Same as stewed tomatoes- just pre-cut) I used my Zyliss chopper to make the celery & onion super fine- came out GREAT.(I don't like crunchy bits of celery either!) Next time I will do the green pepper that way, too! I had already chopped it by hand & thrown in the pot- it was fine this way anyway. I did saute' the veggies in a little olive oil, then added the meat. The only other thing: it was too mild- & I'm a wuss! So next time I will add more chili powder. I love the consistency of this chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
The chili was excellent! Thanks Judi for sharing the recipe! I did add a little gr. cumin and a little extra chili pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
We agree Judy! This is the most awesome chili!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
We loved it! I doubled the recipe and served it to 6 hungry friends on football Sunday. We had plenty of leftovers! This was a very simple chili for those who like the traditional. I added a lot of spice. It seemed a bit tame. I used red pepper flakes, red pepper sauce and more chili powder. It needed that kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Awsome chili! Even my DH raved about it and he isn't a big chili fan. It was the perfect grade of spicyness though it was TOO spicy for the kids. But the adults loved it! I used 2 cans pinto beans and one can of chili beans b/c that is what I had on hand and it worked great. Go easy on the salt though b/c the longer it sits, the more the salt comes out. I made this ahead of time and let it sit in the fridge for 2 days before we ate it and it was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Wow. This was delicious. I added some cayenne pepper and paprika and it gave it a great kick. I also used one can of 19 oz beans and thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
i liked this alot and it was really easy, the only thing i disliked was the crunch of the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
Not your TYPICAL chili! I added 8 oz. of fresh cliced mushrooms and a 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes (Why not? It is already different). Everyone loved it! In fact, I made it twice in one week. I have never made the same meal two times in a week.....It is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This was a great recipe! My husband is picky and he said it was the best chili he has ever had. The only thing I did different was add on 19oz can of Kidney beans and one 14oz can of pork and beans in tomato sauce, rather than adding two cans of the Kidney beans. I also addes some red pepper flakes for some extra spiceness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This was a hit at my party. One of my guests raved that she loved it, and she claims to be a chili expert. Instead of chili powder, I used a chili seasoning packet that made it tasty, and not too spicy. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampstead, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States