Minnesota Golf Course Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Absolutely delicious! My husband does NOT like chili, and when I told him that we would be eating this for dinner, he was not thrilled. However, he RAVED about this and told me to give it five stars. I made no changes to the recipe, and even though some reviewers said it was 'bland', neither my husband or I like particularly hot dishes, so I kept the chili powder as is - it was PERFECT. I only had one pound of meat, but it was fine. And, I dumped the whole thing in the crock pot and cooked on low for the afternoon. Thank you for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
We are Minnesotan's. I love this recipe, although it is a little bland. I prefer a little more flavor. To start I wanted to do this in the crock pot, so I browned the Hamburger and then the veggies in a pan. I added the rest, plus a bit more chili powder, a little cumin, as well as a few glugs of worschestire, and a dash or two of cinnamon. Awesome, because we like the chili a little sweet I added 2 tablespoons of sugar rather then the 1. Good basic start to a great pot of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelican Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
The chili was excellent! Thanks Judi for sharing the recipe! I did add a little gr. cumin and a little extra chili pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Wonderful! I planned ahead and browned the beef and chopped the vegetables with dinner the night before and threw it all in the crock pot the next morning (left out the cup of water). I kept it on low all day and it turned out perfect. You do need the 6 quart crock pot though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiminnows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Good base recipe, but I like to substitute honey for the sugar and black beans (rinsed) for the kidney beans. A bit of hot sauce or cayenne will spice it up, and a tsp. of worchestershire and soy sauce will give it some depth of flavor. Totally omit the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vergas, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I'm sorry this is the blandest chili I ever had. Like a golf course... I had to add and add to make it have some flavor. Sorry, for me, I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
We loved it! I doubled the recipe and served it to 6 hungry friends on football Sunday. We had plenty of leftovers! This was a very simple chili for those who like the traditional. I added a lot of spice. It seemed a bit tame. I used red pepper flakes, red pepper sauce and more chili powder. It needed that kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I was really suprized whe I read this recipe, this is allmost exactly the same chili My family has been making for years. The only thing I would recomend is draining the fat off the ground beef before adding the rest of the ingredients, I also cook my onions first in the pot that I brown the ground beef in and add them after draining the fat off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This was my recipe of choice for the Super Bowl. I used 2 cans of the diced tomatoes with onion, celery, & green pepper.(14 oz) (Same as stewed tomatoes- just pre-cut) I used my Zyliss chopper to make the celery & onion super fine- came out GREAT.(I don't like crunchy bits of celery either!) Next time I will do the green pepper that way, too! I had already chopped it by hand & thrown in the pot- it was fine this way anyway. I did saute' the veggies in a little olive oil, then added the meat. The only other thing: it was too mild- & I'm a wuss! So next time I will add more chili powder. I love the consistency of this chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Excellent chili - much like I make all the time except I use BROWN sugar in place of your white, maybe even a little more than a Tbls. and a touch more chili powder. This really is a no-fail chili whether in the crock pot or stove top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States