Minnesota Golf Course Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This was very much like Wendy's fast food restaurant chili. My family really liked this chili. I didn't care for it and thought it was very bland and needed a LOT more spice and I had doubled the chili powder already. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good! I only had 1 lb of hamburger so I used that along with an extra Tablespoon of chili powder and a sprinkle of cumin. Be sure to simmer for at least an hour as the chili becomes thicker the longer you cook it. I did, however, leave out the water because I wanted it as thick as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Excellent recipe. I get rave reviews from my family every time that I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I made chili for the 1st time this week and this recipe helped me out alot. I loved it & so did my husband. I did a couple things diffrently. I used a crock pot rather than stove top. I also heard of an idea to use A1 for flavor as well as Franky's Hot Sauce. It was Fabulouse!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shine124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
We are Minnesotan's. I love this recipe, although it is a little bland. I prefer a little more flavor. To start I wanted to do this in the crock pot, so I browned the Hamburger and then the veggies in a pan. I added the rest, plus a bit more chili powder, a little cumin, as well as a few glugs of worschestire, and a dash or two of cinnamon. Awesome, because we like the chili a little sweet I added 2 tablespoons of sugar rather then the 1. Good basic start to a great pot of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelican Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This was a hit with the whole family. The grownups used chipotle hot sauce with theirs, and we topped it with cheese. I served a cheese cornbread with it. There were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Wonderful! I planned ahead and browned the beef and chopped the vegetables with dinner the night before and threw it all in the crock pot the next morning (left out the cup of water). I kept it on low all day and it turned out perfect. You do need the 6 quart crock pot though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiminnows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Absolutely delicious! My husband does NOT like chili, and when I told him that we would be eating this for dinner, he was not thrilled. However, he RAVED about this and told me to give it five stars. I made no changes to the recipe, and even though some reviewers said it was 'bland', neither my husband or I like particularly hot dishes, so I kept the chili powder as is - it was PERFECT. I only had one pound of meat, but it was fine. And, I dumped the whole thing in the crock pot and cooked on low for the afternoon. Thank you for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This was a hit at my party. One of my guests raved that she loved it, and she claims to be a chili expert. Instead of chili powder, I used a chili seasoning packet that made it tasty, and not too spicy. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampstead, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I'm sorry this is the blandest chili I ever had. Like a golf course... I had to add and add to make it have some flavor. Sorry, for me, I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States