Minnesota Golf Course Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I was really suprized whe I read this recipe, this is allmost exactly the same chili My family has been making for years. The only thing I would recomend is draining the fat off the ground beef before adding the rest of the ingredients, I also cook my onions first in the pot that I brown the ground beef in and add them after draining the fat off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Good base recipe, but I like to substitute honey for the sugar and black beans (rinsed) for the kidney beans. A bit of hot sauce or cayenne will spice it up, and a tsp. of worchestershire and soy sauce will give it some depth of flavor. Totally omit the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vergas, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This chili was delicious. I made some of the changes suggested by others like adding a splash of Worcestershire, ground cumin, and a little extra chili powder. I also didn't have tomato paste on hand, so I used some left over marinara sauce. It turned out very flavorful and hearty. This will definitely be my gluten-free chili recipe of choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
we had used "moms" recipe for years, this was a nice twist to what we had been used too, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somerset, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was delicious, I'd definitely make it again. The only thing I did differently was to substitute one can of pinto beans for one can of the kidney beans because I didn't have 2 cans of kidney, and I added a tablespoon of ground cumin with the chili powder. Even with the cumin, it still was not too spicy, just right. I served it with chopped fresh cilantro, grated chedder cheese, sour cream and tortilla chips that everyone could add to their bowl if they liked (I added everything to mine, yum!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazylazycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
So tasty and easy to make! Rather than simmer on the stove for an hour, I put it in the crock pot for six hours so I would have it for dinner that night. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Great chili my guests thought it had just the right amount of seasoning. I think the sugar was a great added touch. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Pretty good recipe. I liked the celery in there. We ended up putting a can of tomato sauce in it before it was a bit too chunky. Might want to add a bit more spice in it after the extra tomato sauce. Wasn't very spicy, still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I have made this chili, but, I added 1 tsp of cumin, and 1 tsp of cayenne. Also I added a can of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nevin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This was very much like Wendy's fast food restaurant chili. My family really liked this chili. I didn't care for it and thought it was very bland and needed a LOT more spice and I had doubled the chili powder already. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States