Minnesota Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Wonderful. Omitted eggs, used black olives instead of green and olive oil mayo to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Love this! My mother used to make it back in the early 80's but it was never called Minnesota anything, just Broccoli Salad. Glad to find this recipe again! I don't see the purpose of par-boiling the broccoli (we never did) so I skip that step and save myself the trouble. It's just fine if you let it sit overnight, and I don't change any ingredients. Great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeachPeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
My mom makes a similar salad but does add sliced almonds. I really have to be in the mood for this one because I am not a huge fan of mayo. But I do love it on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Lovely simple salad! I omitted the olives (five children under ten years old in my home!), cooked the broccoli a bit longer by accident, and stuck the salad in pitas to make sandwiches. It was a great warm winter dish enjoyed by all but the youngest two ages 3 and 1!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
If you love green olives, you'll like this. Unfortunately for me, I'm not the biggest fan and the olives overpowered things for me. My husband thought the eggs just didn't work with the rest of the ingredients and I have to agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
So good. We used more broccoli—about a pound and a half—and kept the rest of the ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Here's how much my family liked this salad. My son didn't touch the portion on his plate until I urged him to have a bite. So he did. "Oh," he said after his first bite. "OH!" he said after his second bite. "This is really good!" he said, as he shoveled broccoli salad into his mouth. "Can I have some more?" he said. My husband ate two helpings of salad and said things like, "So is this the official Minnesota State Dish?" So yes, this is a winner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I followed this to the letter and was dissapointed at the finished dish. The olives took over the taste of the dish. If you love green olives you will love this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I didn't change a thing and let it sit overnight before serving. Recipe says 8 servings but 5 of us polished it off easily as a side dish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was the first thing finished at a barbecue this weekend. I had never made a broccoli salad using anything other than raw broccoli, so I was concerned I would mess it up. It turned out perfect! I wish I had made more though, I've already been requested to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States