Miniature Cheesecakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
A great dessert to have in the freezer for drop in guests! I've used pecan sandies and Girl Scout shortbread cookies for the base, both with good results. I would also recommend the following variations...omit the nutmeg, double the vanilla, add 1 tsp lemon juice, use 1/3 less fat cream chese to cut down on calories (not fat free). Use foil baking cups, or spray with non-stick cooking oil and place directly in muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Love this recipe... easy & tasty!! Definite keeper!! I just put the paper cups into a regular muffin pan and dropped a vanilla wafer into each one. They turn out fine. I also omitted the nutmeg. No leftovers just lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
The yield on this recipe was way off for me. I followed it to the T. I got 11 and 1/2 mini cheesecakes! I filled the muffin cups a bit over half full, using a 1/4 cup measuring cup. Dont know what happened, but they were excellent. I used the nutmeg, reading the reviews while they were baking, and I agree it is overpowering. Will not use it next time. But hey, I have 11 and 1/2 eggnog tasting mini cheesecakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Took others advice and left out the nutmeg. I also used light cream cheese and 3/4 cup of sugar. The blueberry pie filling is sweet enough so you don't even notice. Didn't know what to expect with using the light version of cream cheese, but they set up just fine for me. I did bake them about 5 minutes longer, but worth it to make them a bit lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wind Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This are excellent and so easy to make! The only thing is that the vanilla wafers don't exactly fit in the muffin cups. I might try crushing them first and then putting them in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I've made these for years and have never used nutmeg. Instead I add lemon juice, not extract, just the juice. I also line my muffin pan with cupcake liners to contain all that yummy stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I cut this recipe in thirds, which may have been the cause of the texture that wasn't quite smooth enough for me. But the good news: I didn't have vanilla wafers, but I did have...SHORTBREAD GIRL SCOUT COOKIES! They made the most incredible "crust." I'll use them for many other desserts that call for a graham cracker crust from now on. You should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozztafarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is so easy and they turn out so cute! I might mix the cheesecake mix in a blender or something next time because the consistency wasn't the smoothest when I did it myself. I added only a dash of nutmeg as well and reduced the sugar. I used various fruit preserve and fresh fruit as toppings as well as a dallop of whipped cream and finely chopped nuts or sliced and toasted almonds drizzled with dark chocolate and white chocolate. You can be really creative with these. I usually box 4 beutifully presented cheesecakes into a fancy little box to give to friends on birthdays and they love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Susan O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was good. My mom used to make these all the time for us when we were younger. There is nothing better than coming home from school and being able to eat one of these for a snack. The nutmeg was a little too overpowering (read reviews after making). Will make again, but reduce the amount (or might leave it out all together). Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Used chocolate chip cookie dough for crust, cooked dough about 7 minutes and cooled before filling. I would leave out the nutmeg and maybe add a little sour cream for extra creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Pumpkin Cheesecakes

See a few time-saving tricks for making easy mini pumpkin cheesecakes.

Mini Cheesecakes I

These cheesecakes are both impressive and super easy.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States