Mini Sweet Potato Samosas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Anne
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Very good and easy. I sauted diced onion, garlic, olive oil, cumin, and curry poweder and mixed that into the mashed sweet potatoes. Samosas were better with a tablespoon of filling. Added chutney and a ginger mango sauce for dipping options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vail, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
These little guys were awesome! I ended up putting a few tablespoons of brown sugar into the mix, then brushing butter on the outside and sprinkling sugar on them before they cooked. I served these for dessert and they were a total hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xezandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This recipe was so easy to make and so tasty - great for people who like a tasty curry rather than a really hot spicy one! I made up the sweet potato mixture the night before to save time, then just did the samosas and baked in the oven on the night. Baking was healthier, but probably didn't crisp them up quite as much as frying would have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I added sauted onion and garlic and I left out the onion packet mix (too easy and not creative enough). I added in a just a little tumeric and curry powder and baked them a bit longer than called for, for extra crunchiness. Lastly, I served them with three little bowls of sauces... dijon thinned with white wine, spicy BBQ sauce, and soy sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
These were the star of my 7 course meal! I left out the onion soup mix, added more Indian spices (turmeric, garam masala) and a little more butter, and the filling was amazing. I brushed the outside with sesame oil as well so they'd get really crispy. Can't thank you enough for this recipe! It was just so good. I served it with homemade plum sauce (recipe on here) and it was a serious crowd-pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I love samosas and being Indian I can make samosas. When I saw this recipe, I thought this was be great. It wasn't. I don't think sweet potatoes mesh well with the curry. I did save some of the sweet potato and mixed it with brown sugar and cinnamon and made mini samosas with it. That came out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My friend and I made these as part of our Indian Feast night. We couldn't find wonton wrappers at my local grocery store (they ran out), so we bought spring roll/ egg roll wrappers, which are thicker and bigger. We doubled the filling recipe and used water to seal instead. Everything else we followed. Baking egg roll wrappers were just not possible...the powder stayed on the samosas. The wrapper was chewy for the most part, the corners were crispy. We finally had to fry them to get that crispy outside. Very good when crispy. Not too happy about the oil though. The filling is a winner though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
A great recipe for left-over mashed sweet potatoes. I added 1 tsp of Garam Marsala (Indian Spice blend) in place of the curry. And added a dash of cayenne pepper and cumin. The sweetness and spice was a wonderful combination. Next time I will brush the outside of each with a little oil so they will crisp a little better. And I did put them under the broiler to get them a little more brown. I served them with Plum sauce for dipping. A really great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
YUM! What a great idea. I had 1/2 a packet of wonton wrappers left and found this recipe...we had it for dinner! SO YUMMY. I added Garam masala spice as well as a little onion powder to the sweet potato puree. It was REALLY easy to put together and we dipped in plum sauce and hosin sauce. Will definiately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is really a 5-star potential recipe, I just didn't like the use of the onion mix. I took that out and instead I sauteed onions with garlic, and put the cumin & curry powder in with that along with some turmeric, then added that into mash with the sweet potatoes. I used 3 dipping sauces as everyone likes a something different: mango chutney, soy sauce, and a healthy Dijon yogourt-based dressing made by Bolthouse farms (I think someone has suggested cutting dijon mustard with white wine and that sounds lovely as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States