Mini Sweet Potato Samosas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
These were the star of my 7 course meal! I left out the onion soup mix, added more Indian spices (turmeric, garam masala) and a little more butter, and the filling was amazing. I brushed the outside with sesame oil as well so they'd get really crispy. Can't thank you enough for this recipe! It was just so good. I served it with homemade plum sauce (recipe on here) and it was a serious crowd-pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I love samosas and being Indian I can make samosas. When I saw this recipe, I thought this was be great. It wasn't. I don't think sweet potatoes mesh well with the curry. I did save some of the sweet potato and mixed it with brown sugar and cinnamon and made mini samosas with it. That came out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is really a 5-star potential recipe, I just didn't like the use of the onion mix. I took that out and instead I sauteed onions with garlic, and put the cumin & curry powder in with that along with some turmeric, then added that into mash with the sweet potatoes. I used 3 dipping sauces as everyone likes a something different: mango chutney, soy sauce, and a healthy Dijon yogourt-based dressing made by Bolthouse farms (I think someone has suggested cutting dijon mustard with white wine and that sounds lovely as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
A great recipe for left-over mashed sweet potatoes. I added 1 tsp of Garam Marsala (Indian Spice blend) in place of the curry. And added a dash of cayenne pepper and cumin. The sweetness and spice was a wonderful combination. Next time I will brush the outside of each with a little oil so they will crisp a little better. And I did put them under the broiler to get them a little more brown. I served them with Plum sauce for dipping. A really great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I added sauted onion and garlic and I left out the onion packet mix (too easy and not creative enough). I added in a just a little tumeric and curry powder and baked them a bit longer than called for, for extra crunchiness. Lastly, I served them with three little bowls of sauces... dijon thinned with white wine, spicy BBQ sauce, and soy sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
These little guys were awesome! I ended up putting a few tablespoons of brown sugar into the mix, then brushing butter on the outside and sprinkling sugar on them before they cooked. I served these for dessert and they were a total hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xezandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
These were amazing! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding a handful of pressed garlic into the water when the sweet potatoes were simmering, which were later mashed in. I was surprised at the beautiful color they got in the oven...I thought I would end up pan frying them, but they were perfect. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucyford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Very good and easy. I sauted diced onion, garlic, olive oil, cumin, and curry poweder and mixed that into the mashed sweet potatoes. Samosas were better with a tablespoon of filling. Added chutney and a ginger mango sauce for dipping options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vail, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
So good, so easy. This is a great appetizer. I actually am making them as an appetizer for Thanksgiving to add a little spice to the menu. I may try adding peas into the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I added chives, apples and garlic. I also served with a spicy peach chutney........simply amazing. It is a great base recipe that you could do lots of variations with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Miller-Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States