Mini Southwestern Corn Pup Muffins with Fiesta Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Very tasty, quick, and easy recipe. Kids and adults love it. I made only one change, I used dry taco seasoning mix instead of chili powder. Only suggestion I have is I made batches with both regular cupcake pans and mini cupcake pans. The regular sized ones came out slightly harder to eat, and stuck heavily to the cupcake wrappers I used. This was quite irritating when trying to eat them. Also, there was almost too much cornbread to hot dog ratio.(cut each dog into 1/4 pieces) On the other hand, the smaller Mini ones I made with my nonstick mini pan, I cooked a few minutes less, in these I used 1/8 of a hotdog pieces, and it worked perfect. They were so yummy, everyone ate these and left the big ones after tasting both. Perfect hotdog-corn mixture ratio. They weren't as floppy as the big ones.Fun to eat! I will definitely make these again, but from now on will use the mini cupcake pans only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boifriendimpared

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I cheated and used a Jiffy Mix instead but with same results. The kids went crazy for these! All were gone as soon as they left the oven! Great lunch for little ones to help make....my son called these Corny Puppies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
These are a definate make again. DH and I both ate a bunch of them, but the toddler just picked out the hot dog and ate that. So the spices make these suitable for the more "refined" palettes in the household, hahaha. The dipping sauce got bettr and better the longer it sat in the fridge (I think it took sometime for the flavors to meld), so my suggestion would be to make the sauce 1/2 a day before the muffins and let it sit (covered) in the fridge until serving time. -Diana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Easy and better than corndogs. I added about 1/2 tsp. more garlic powder and 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper. This was easily made vegetarian with veggie dogs and soymilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I imagine these just wern't our taste, although I thought they would be. I didn't care for the dipping sauce at all, and I love dips. I think it was the mayo. Maybe use all sour cream? Honestly, if my kids loved them, I would have rated them highter (being a kid pleaser recipe and all) but they love regular corn muffins but only ate half of one of these and picked out the hot dog and left the rest of the muffin. Sorry I coudn't be more positive--we just did not like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
These are fantastic! I ended up being out of chili powder so in desperation I subbed an equal amt of chili seasoning mix. I also chopped the dogs up & mixed them right into the batter when I added the cheese. I got 12 perfect, reg size muffins out of it. They were delish!! I opted not to make the sauce but may make some today to try w/the leftovers we'll be having for lunch. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Love, Love, LOVE THESE! I made a batch (mine made 48 mini muffins) took half to a party where they were gobbled up, and sent half (a few at a time) with my son's lunch to school. This was a great shake up from sandwiches and even just plain hot dogs. My husband loves these for a midnight snack as well. These are the BEST!! Thank you for this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHONDAM10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA
Living In: La Salle, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I truly have a special place in my heart for corndogs. These little guys are FANTASTIC!! I used 3 veggie hotdogs for 24 mini muffins. I cut each hotdog into 8 equal pieces. Using a small cookie scoop, I put a full scoop into each well of my silicone mini muffin pan, placed a hotdog chunk into each one, and topped them off with about 1 teaspoon of batter. I added 2 teaspoons of sugar to the dipping sauce, decreased the taco seasoning to 1 tablespoon, and added 1 tablespoon of milk to make it taste like Taco Bell's Santa Fe sauce (the sauce they so cruelly discontinued!). SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
this was exceptionally yummy - I cut the hot dogs up small so my toddler could eat it too and I increased the oil to 1/4 cup - I had to increase the baking time about 5 minutes but the end result was yummy - nothing stuck to the paper liner - I would mix the sauce first before starting on everything else though, really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Made these for my teens for lunch. I used a mini muffin pan to make them bite size, so my hot dog pieces were smaller. Serving size was 12 muffins. The did eat them but no comment as to whether they liked them or not (they usually tell me how good a recipe is). I suspect they will stick to eating their hot dogs with coney sauce and shredded cheese (or plain old ketchup)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States