Mini Southwestern Corn Pup Muffins with Fiesta Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I thought these were ok, but my husband, the corn dog lover, really enjoyed them minus the fiesta dipping sauce. If you want to save on calories, leave out the cheese. I couldn't taste it in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cola
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
We make these in a mini-muffin pan. The perfect hot dog/bread ratio for us is 1/8 of a normal sized hot dog. The batter fits perfectly into 36 mini muffins. The only change we make is to double the cheese. The sauce is good - however if you let it sit over night it becomes great! My husband eats these cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
These were fun and easy to make. Made them for my grandsons 2nd birthday party. I made mini ones and I cheated and made a corn bread recipe that I always use and just added the hot dogs. The dipping sauce was good too. They were a hit because they were easy for the little kids to pick up and walk around while they munched and played games. Would definately make them again. Next time I will take the time and make them from scratch according to the recipe. I don't usually alter the recipe when I make it the first time but I had to make so many that simplicity was a must!!!! Give them a try, you will like them alot!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Lana
Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I only had 3 hot dogs thawed and with those cut into little pieces the amount of hot dog was too much to get the muffins out in one piece. The flavor was okay- the kids ate them, but wanted seconds of the hot dogs without the muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharityAmber
Home Town: Warsaw, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
These would be much better if the hot dogs were cut into little chunks, instead of one big chunk in the muffin. I thought my kids would really like them, but they just picked out the hot dog chunks. A really cute idea though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Yum!! I sauteed celery and onion that i diced up very small, (simalar to "Corn Dog Casserole" on this site)and added them in. These were Suger GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
this was great. i made them with veggie dogs and omitted the feista part. next time i will make them exactly how it says, im sre they will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Made these for my teens for lunch. I used a mini muffin pan to make them bite size, so my hot dog pieces were smaller. Serving size was 12 muffins. The did eat them but no comment as to whether they liked them or not (they usually tell me how good a recipe is). I suspect they will stick to eating their hot dogs with coney sauce and shredded cheese (or plain old ketchup)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
These were great! I made them for my kids lunches. This recipe made the muffins from scratch (no mix required) which was a plus for me. I made these as mini muffins and left out the chili powder, cumin and garlic. I did not use the sauce at all. The corn muffin baked up light, sweet and with gentle corn flavor. They were a hit with both preschoolers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I truly have a special place in my heart for corndogs. These little guys are FANTASTIC!! I used 3 veggie hotdogs for 24 mini muffins. I cut each hotdog into 8 equal pieces. Using a small cookie scoop, I put a full scoop into each well of my silicone mini muffin pan, placed a hotdog chunk into each one, and topped them off with about 1 teaspoon of batter. I added 2 teaspoons of sugar to the dipping sauce, decreased the taco seasoning to 1 tablespoon, and added 1 tablespoon of milk to make it taste like Taco Bell's Santa Fe sauce (the sauce they so cruelly discontinued!). SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States