Mini Reubens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These were a huge hit! I'm too lazy to stack everything up, so I just mixed all of the ingredients together (except the bread), using diced corned beef and shredded cheese. Then I dropped a tablespoon or so on each slice of bread and broiled. Easy and delicious! They also tasted good at room temperature, so you can make them ahead if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
We thougt these were pretty good. Next time I will toast the mini rye bread first as it was a little soggy. With that in mind we will make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I love the classic Reuben sandwich, but these appetizers are even better! Since they have less bread, you can taste the other flavors better, and they are healthier since they are broiled rather than grilled with lots of butter. You can serve them anywhere from a Super Bowl party to a shower (although I would recommend eating with utensils at the latter since the sandwiches can get messy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I have been making these for years, and usually I by the cheap corned beef (Budding brand) and use siccors to 'shred'. the beef. I also use some shredded swiss cheese. I mix the beef, cheese and kraut together - adding enough dressing to make it creamy. Then I scoop a tablespoon full onto the mini rye slices and top with a small square fo swiss cheese... and bake! SOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANTMARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I make these, but not open faced. I use a small amount of yellow mustard in place of the Thousand Island,serving the Thousand Island on the side. I lightly butter the top and bottom of the rye bread and place butter side down on a cookie sheet, cover with foil and heat in a 350° oven until heated through. They turn out like grilled reuben sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
We have made these several times and they are ALWAYS a huge hit. Tips: Toast the bread a bit first or they can get soggy. Also, I think using thinly shaved corned beef makes them easier to assemble. If the meat is too think it doesn't want to stay folded. (I guess you could just cut it into little pieces and stack them up but then that adds another prep step.) The biggest problem with them is if you make a ton of them you need a really LARGE tray for transporting them. They don't do well stacked on top of each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levelland, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I loved these. The only thing is, I use my favorite reuben dressing, which is 1/2 thousand island and 1/2 russian dressing. Tangy and zippy. It's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Didn't want to mix all the ingredients together like other reviews suggest. Just stack the sliced meat and cut into squares that fit. I used 3 layers of meat. Also made with turkey - use mustard rather than dressing. Took to a neighborhood block party with tons of great food but these were the 1st gone (I made 2 loaves!). Easy to handle and mingle at the same time. What a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prttimecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
The bread needs to be lightly buttered and put in the broiler for a minute before assembly. Then assemble on the non butter side. That is all this is missing from the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Love These Little Sandwiches! Made them for some friends for a big football game viewing party. Everyone of them, and I made a bunch, were gone! Even the ones who didn't like Reubens had to try them cause they looked so good. Easy to make and look like something gourmet. Only drawback, they are much better right out of the oven. After they sit a while, definitely reheat a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ Pastrami and Corned Beef Mini Sandwich

A snack-size version of the famous sandwich created by Carnegie Deli.

Mini Ham and Cheese Rolls

These easy and tasty little sliders are perfect for game day.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States