Mini Pineapple Upside-Down Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
These were fantastic! They went quickly. I used pineapple chunks so I did not have to mess with cutting the rings. Worked out for me. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OSBORNEFAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
These are great the first time i made them i used kitchen scissors to cut the pineapple rings to fit...but if you use jumbo muffin pans they fit without cutting them even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I made these to take to work. I am very pleased. I used the pineapple tidbits like suggested, and placed the cherry half upside down in the butter/brown sugar mixture, then surrounded by the pineapple. I also loosened around each cake with a knife before inverting. They are very moist. You will love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEEPAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I loved the classic recipe. There wasn't anything added to it which was great. It was alot of work trimming the pineapple, next time I will arrange tidbits into a circle. This was so pretty on my tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I love this recipe!! I made these for a bake sale & they were the first items to go--even before the chocolate!! I recommend using pineapple tidbits--they're easier to form the rings. I also sprayed my paper muffin cups with cooking spray & had no trouble getting the goodies out. They tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I only had a white cake mix,so I used it.I made 12 of these with just the brown sugar and butter on top for the 1/2 of the family who does not like pineapple. I then left to pick up kids and forgot about them in the oven. They were way overdone. To my surprise they ate them, even the pineapple haters told me how good they were. They had no idea they had juice in them. Even burnt these were good. Will Make again. What a great idea!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I made this for my daughter's Letter U snack at school. I lost a couple of them because it stuck to pan. I cut up the pineapple rings and put the tidbits in the bottom. It turned out very good. The kids enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Excellent idea! I actually made my cake rom scratch as I had no cake mix on hand, but loved this idea. I used pineapple chunks instead-- one to a cup-- and no cherries (we don't like them), and it was perfect. Note: The brown sugar can caramelize into a hard candy-like shell if it spills over onto the muffin pan... be sure to remove this right away after turning onto the rack. These will be part of the dessert table at my wedding-- but this time, using cake mix! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I usually don't like pineapple but this may be the best cake I have ever had. And to top it my boyfriend who dosnt cook let alone bake made these by himself. This recipe must be full proof. I know he used a pinapple upside down cake mix instead of just reagular yellow it really intensified the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
i chose this recipe because i had a white cake mix begging to be used. so obviously, i omitted the yellow mix. i used fresh pineapple, which now that i've tasted it, probably wouldn't make a difference if you used canned, but i just LOVE fresh! i also put the cherries in the pineapple in one pan, and followed the recipes instructions on the other pan, and either way is good. the best thing about this recipe is the size!!!! i think the size is perfect for pineapple upside down cakes. prefect individual sizes, everyone gets some pineapple and a cherry. it was a very forgiving recipe. this has made my own recipe book and will be making it several times in the future! took the other posters advice about rum for my alcoholic friends, but i just poured some captain morgan over the chilled cakes and let it soak in. many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebakedbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States