Mini Pineapple Upside-Down Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
mmmm, Just like Mom used to make, only in mini's. the serving portion is nice but next time I'm gonna try the larger texas size for an entire pineapple ring to fit. I only used 1 20 oz can and cut them up into pieces or small chunks. When they first come out ot the oven, be careful turning the pan over that upir cakes don't spill out- the topping is juice unitl it sets. Maybe use a knife around the edges, then flip and let rest without removing pan for for at least 5 minutes. Perfect crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dutch Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OrangeHibiscus
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Beautiful & Delicious! USE PINEAPPLE TIDBITS is a must! That way when you bite/fork the mini cakes you'll ALWAYS have a piece of pineapple & cake, easier to eat. Made this several times, took several batches to a family party & it was a hit the first dessert to go I mean gone & people were asking if theres more. Heres what I did. Sprayed pan with Butter Pam. Used yellow butter mix (thats what I had on hand). Used 1 20oz. can tidbits instead of slices. Followed cake mix on box but also used juice from the tidbit can & added water to make up liquid required in mix. Spooned about 2 tsps butter/sugar in greased pan, laid 4-5 tidbits in a ring pattern then spooned 1-2 tsp batter, then added 1 chopped smaller tidbits into each batter then spooned batter over it. Baked perfectly in 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrangeHibiscus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Owens
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
SOOO Good! I doubled the brown sugar and butter. Used Duncan pineapple cake mix (followed the recipe on the box). I took both the cherries and pineapple and put them in the food processor for a few pulses. Here's how I layered it in a liberally greased muffin tin: brown sugar mix, cherries, pineapple, cake mix. When they were done baking, I left them in the tin for about 3 mins, then I flipped them over to cool on a cooling rack. I served them in a baking cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Owens

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Tasty little cakes.....Couldnt be more simple. I used pineapple tidbits in place of the rings due to them not fitting properly in the muffin tin I had. I also place the cherry on before baking. Pretty to look at and better to eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
followed the recipe pretty much exactly. subbed the oil with applesauce. looks pretty, tastes amazing. YES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Better than traditional upside cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
If I could give more than 5 stars I would! Fantastic! The second time I made these I did a few minor changes, like crushed pineapple instead of rings, white cake instead of yellow, & I baked with the cherry instead of adding it afterwards. Turned out amazing! They were gonein the blink of an eye! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
These were not only delicious but also down right Yummy! Holy Cow they were so good! My little family made the whole batch-kept some for ouselves and wrapped the rest up and gave to neighbors and friends. They were so most and way smelled so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very tasty but they didnt stick together very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Great presentation... wow these were so incredibly easy and looked so nice when they were finished... the best part is they tasted good too.... very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States