Mini Parmesan Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
More like a mini-biscuit rather than a scone, but yummy none the less. I used all-purpose flour rather than self-rising, so I added 3 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of sea salt (for 2 cups of flour). So easy and so quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Karla, great recipe! Thanks for sharing. I've made these several times and they always turn out light and fluffy. Tonight I made them with 2T finely minced chives, 1t garlic powder and 3T asiago cheese (along with the Parmesan you suggest). Yummy! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Very easy to prepare. Definitely reminded me of fast food chains' breakfast biscuits. I didn't have self-rising flour on hand, so I did the trick of adding 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt per cup of all purpose flour. Ended up a little too salty, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
Wow!!!! These are darn good, they're great! It's such a simple recipe that I actually doubted it at first, but they are sooooo yummy and cheesey. I added more parmesan and some romano as well. These can also become herb cheese scones too. More people need to discover these!!!! Hello people????????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Use the same recipe but a little less liquid and make drop scones (like the previous reviewer also) – it’s less work. Self-rising flour was not on my shelf so I looked in a cookbook for another scone recipe – it required 2t. baking powder so that is what I used before looking at the previous reviews on this recipe. When I bake these again I’ll use 3t. baking powder and more parmesan. Sprinkling a bit of the cheese on top sounds like a good idea too. We thought the salt was just right but I used kosher salt and quality parmesan - don't know if that made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
These ARE good. So cheesey and gooey. I added more cheese cause i'm an addict. They came out perfect and smelled so good while baking. I have never made a bread/scone recipe before and I'm so happy my first came out this great. Thank you Karla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
these are the best darn scones i've ever tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Easy and Yummy. Only change is to put more grated parmesan on top, and dab a little bit of milk to make the scone look golden. Takes a bit longer than stated as well, about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
These were excellent, and reminded me more of biscuits than the scones that I have had in the past. Next time I might add a little more Parmesan cheese because I don't think I could taste it that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Definitely more like biscuits than scones, but who's complaining? Yes, these would be way too salty if you added the salt called for bc the recipe calls for self rising flour, which already has salt in it. I, too, don't have self rising flour and just used 3 tsps baking powder and 1 tsp salt to adjust (1 cup of self rising flour has 1 1 1/2 tsps baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt). I sprinkled a little bit of cayenne into the dough itself instead of sprinkling onto each biscuit. I didn't put in the salt called for in the recipe, and instead of cutting into biscuits (I am lazy), I just made drop scones with my small cookie scoop. they don't spread much so you can put a lot onto one cookie sheet. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States