Mini Parmesan Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I made these scones for a work potluck. I was afraid nobody would eat them with all the cookies and brownies to choose from but every single one was gone by the end of the party, and there were still lots of cookies left. I used four cheeses: parmesan, romano, grana padana, and mahon. I subbed buttermilk for the milk for a tangier taste and more tender crumb and added a little extra to make drops instead of rolling and cutting. To bake, I melted a pat of butter in the pan, grated some cheese over it, dropped the scones in, and grated more cheese over that. I topped with paprika because I didn't have cayenne. I made this recipe because I had a bag of self-rising flour and no idea what to do with it. Those who found it too salty might check your flour--mine had salt already added so I didn't use more in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
These were just a little weird for my liking. Everyone else that I fed them to seemed to enjoy them, but I didn't. I don't know what it was, but I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
These were really yummy - I added more Parmesan though as I thought the first batch was a little plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
These turned out pretty well, although not as fluffy as I expected. I didn't knead the dough, just dropped them, so that may be why. I'm definitely keeping in this one in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
This was my first attempt at making scones and I was very pleased with them. I was trying to find a lower-fat version of cheese scones and this seemed to be the one. - I knocked back the parmesan to 1/4 cup, used only a pinch of salt and the second time used 200ml of reduced fat milk and 200ml water to get the dough abit less runny. I made drop scones and mixed half the cheese into the mixture and sprinkled the rest on the tops which was lovely - I think it brought more cheese flavour out since I didn't use all that much in the first place. I LOVED the cayenne pepper 'bite' to these and have made them 4 times now, great for morning tea thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
This scone is too salty and it tastes like very salty bread than scone. Will look for more fluffy scone recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Use the same recipe but a little less liquid and make drop scones (like the previous reviewer also) – it’s less work. Self-rising flour was not on my shelf so I looked in a cookbook for another scone recipe – it required 2t. baking powder so that is what I used before looking at the previous reviews on this recipe. When I bake these again I’ll use 3t. baking powder and more parmesan. Sprinkling a bit of the cheese on top sounds like a good idea too. We thought the salt was just right but I used kosher salt and quality parmesan - don't know if that made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
I found that if I just barely mix the wet and dry and then without kneading just plop lg spoonfuls onto baking tray they come out much "fluffier" not to mention funky organic shapes! we love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BESARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
This was a nice modification of the standard baking powder biscuit. Since I didn't have a 1/2 cup of parmesan, I ended up using 1/4 cup parm and 1/4 cup mozzarella. Also, I omitted the salt entirely. This one's going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
It was delicious, even my fussy hubby finds so too. However, I find that it's too salty.. should have read the reviews/pitfalls before baking.. will do it again but probably not add any salt at all! Used 1 cup of self-raising flour and 1 cup of multi-grain flour, and changed the milk to 'skim milk'. For those following ww, I've calculated the points using mastercook.. it should be 2 pts per scone (with skim milk). Pl correct me if I'm wrong.. :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States