Mini Parmesan Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Like other reviewers said this recipe is more of biscuit than scone. First time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly. It was good but lacked some flavor. Second time around, I added some pesto (I just had some leftover pesto in the fridge). It turned out flavorful and delicious. Btw, I didn't want to bother cutting the dough into small pieces, so I used muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Definitely more like biscuits than scones, but who's complaining? Yes, these would be way too salty if you added the salt called for bc the recipe calls for self rising flour, which already has salt in it. I, too, don't have self rising flour and just used 3 tsps baking powder and 1 tsp salt to adjust (1 cup of self rising flour has 1 1 1/2 tsps baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt). I sprinkled a little bit of cayenne into the dough itself instead of sprinkling onto each biscuit. I didn't put in the salt called for in the recipe, and instead of cutting into biscuits (I am lazy), I just made drop scones with my small cookie scoop. they don't spread much so you can put a lot onto one cookie sheet. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
These were incredibly salty, and the dough was so sticky I ended up having to add another full 1/4 cup of flour to it. It was nearly inedible it was so salty. The texture was fine, but if I ever tried to make it again I'd cut down on the amount of water, and cut WAY down on the amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
The salt measurement in this recipe is way too high! These scones would have been great but they were too salty. If you make these, cut down on the salt. They turned out light and fluffy, but nobody could eat them because the salt was too much; I used exactly what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I omitted the cayenne pepper. Instead, I added 1 T Italian seasoning and 1/2 tsp. garlic powder to the dough to make delicious Prmesan Herb Scones! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Awesome! I used an empty 6oz tomato paste can to cut out the biscuits (these aren't really scones). They came out perfect. You can substitute the cheese for nearly any add-in, i.e. dried fruit, nuts, cinnamon and raisins, etc. It's a great "base" biscuit!! Thanks very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydneycody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Made a batch of these in parmesan, and a batch in cheddar & garlic for variety. I noticed the absence of salt and added a pinch. I also added an 1/2 c egg and sourcream blend instead of 1/2 c water. (Ok, so I substituted alot.) These turned out great, tho. I liked them alot. Next time I make a batch of parmesan I will devinately add an herb. my hubby said they were the best biscuits he's ever had.(Oh well.) I will make them again and again. I grated the butter in to mix easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I added garlic and onion powder to the flour mixture and they were still kind of bland. They are very doughy for scones as well...I doubt I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I think my scones were just OK. Nothing fantastic or extraordinary. There was just a hint of cheese flavour and they weren't that fluffy either. Maybe my self-rising flour wasn't strong enough. Anyway I'll give it a second shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I just made these scones and they're pretty good. Had some leftover ham so I chopped about 1/2 cup and added it right before kneading, also cut back on salt since ham is salty. I've also made scones where you just knead the pile of dough into a large circle and score it into 6 triangles. So that's what I did wth these and they turned out good. Great for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States