Mini OREO Surprise Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Delightful and delicious. And fun to make too! I made the job of filling the cupcake cups easier on myself by pouring the batter into a gallon ZipLoc bag and piping it in. Worked great! Also, I found I could use a little more than the 1/2 T. of filling, if that helps. I baked them for the minimum recommended baking time and they were perfectly moist. I did use the mini Oreos, after finally finding them in the fourth store I looked for them, Costco. All I could find until then were the Oreo Cakesters! I'm glad I found them, as they do look nice to top the cupcakes, but regular sized Oreos would do just fine in a pinch. I didn't use the Cool Whip, as these will be served where refrigeration is not possible. I LOVED what I ended up frosting them with - White Cake Frosting II, also from this site. Absolutely decadent, memorable, and certainly worthy of making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Anything with Oreos is bound to be good and this was no exception. These were so easy to make and so adorable that I'll definitely make them again. I did find that I used a bit more of than 1/2 Tbsp. of cream cheese mixture per cupcake, but that's OK because the more the better. I didn't use Cool Whip for the frosting, but opted for "White Cake Frosting II" from this site. I've used on "Cookies 'n Cream Cake" before. It tastes just like the inside of an Oreo and it pipes beautifully. It worked great on these little beauties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Simple and tasty. I used about 1 T. of the cream cheese mix (instead of 1/2) and there was plenty of mixture to handle this amount. I made sure when I topped off with the remaining batter that all of the cream cheese mixture was covered so that nothing oozed out. I did use canned (gasp) frosting on top because they needed to travel to a school event and I didn't think the cool whip would hold up. I think I prefer them with frosting over the cool whip anyway. A hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
These are heavenly!!! Loved the flavors and the oreo inside was awesome!!!! I topped them with oreo cookie butter cream that I made and a chocolate covered oreo on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Clunkers
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I made this recipe as a dessert for a party at my best friend's restaurant. Everyone who ate them couldn't believe that I had made them and not actually bought them from a bakery. I will say that you could probably use a full oreo cookie inside them if you wanted to. The next time I make this I am going to do just that. Also I did turn this into a cake recipe for a different friend's birthday. He doesn't like chocolate so I used the vanilla oreos and a white cake mix. I made a whole cake out of it and it tasted amazing. I will say that you should * make sure that your cream cheese either way you choose to make this recipe is soft enough to blend but no too soft to be liquid-y. It will absorb right into the cupcakes or cake and you won't even get the flavor of biting into the cream cheese.* It's not the same. Also I made my cream cheese more like frosting with powdered sugar and I just judged the sweetness to my tastes. I topped my cupcakes with cream cheese frosting as well because I don't care for whipped topping or butter-cream. I hope this helped. Have Fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These are my friend's new favorite cupcakes. I make them with the one bowl chocolate cake II recipe and they come out great but the Oreos kind of melt in the process. Oh well. Use an Oreo or cookies and cream butter cream and they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherharris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was SO delicious!! Easy to make, and just soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrooklynKyler
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I enjoyed making these, and they turned out wonderfully! I found that you can use more than 1/2 tbsp of filling in each cupcake like other reviewers had mentioned. I used a chocolate cake mix, and topped with Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting from this site, and was more than pleased with the final product. The cupcakes had just the right amount of oreo/cream cheese taste in each one. Will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I just made these for my little brothers birthday party but I made it with vanilla cake mix since thats all I had at home. I also used whole oreos and then ripped them in half. I would also suggest using more than 1/2tsp of filling. I could barley taste it. The cookie was nice and soft but the cupcake was a little dry. Maybe it was because I didn't have enough filling. But I was expecting it to be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweets
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Oh my land, super yummy! I made with regular sized Double Stuf oreos that I cut into quarters to put into the cupcakes. Topped each cupcake with vanilla frosting and half an oreo. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States