Mini OREO Surprise Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Good! I wish I would have used more cream cheese mixture and less cake batter in each cupcake, but everyone really seemed to love these. I decided to frost with Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing from this site instead of the Cool-Whip, but I'm sure the Cool-Whip would have been tasty too. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrooklynKyler
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I enjoyed making these, and they turned out wonderfully! I found that you can use more than 1/2 tbsp of filling in each cupcake like other reviewers had mentioned. I used a chocolate cake mix, and topped with Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting from this site, and was more than pleased with the final product. The cupcakes had just the right amount of oreo/cream cheese taste in each one. Will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I just made these for my little brothers birthday party but I made it with vanilla cake mix since thats all I had at home. I also used whole oreos and then ripped them in half. I would also suggest using more than 1/2tsp of filling. I could barley taste it. The cookie was nice and soft but the cupcake was a little dry. Maybe it was because I didn't have enough filling. But I was expecting it to be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Delightful and delicious. And fun to make too! I made the job of filling the cupcake cups easier on myself by pouring the batter into a gallon ZipLoc bag and piping it in. Worked great! Also, I found I could use a little more than the 1/2 T. of filling, if that helps. I baked them for the minimum recommended baking time and they were perfectly moist. I did use the mini Oreos, after finally finding them in the fourth store I looked for them, Costco. All I could find until then were the Oreo Cakesters! I'm glad I found them, as they do look nice to top the cupcakes, but regular sized Oreos would do just fine in a pinch. I didn't use the Cool Whip, as these will be served where refrigeration is not possible. I LOVED what I ended up frosting them with - White Cake Frosting II, also from this site. Absolutely decadent, memorable, and certainly worthy of making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These were good, but I ate one where I didn't actually taste the oreo at all. So I would suggest using more than one mini oreo if you really want the oreo effect. The cream cheese mixture added a nice taste that made these different from plain chocolate cupcakes. I, like others, used frosting for fear the cool-whip wouldn't hold up, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweets
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Oh my land, super yummy! I made with regular sized Double Stuf oreos that I cut into quarters to put into the cupcakes. Topped each cupcake with vanilla frosting and half an oreo. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
FANTASTIC! Super easy and VERY tasty. I used Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge cake mix and they turned out perfectly moist and delicious. I am taking these to my nephews 10th birthday party tomorrow and I just know everyone will love them. This is a keeper! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
These are heavenly!!! Loved the flavors and the oreo inside was awesome!!!! I topped them with oreo cookie butter cream that I made and a chocolate covered oreo on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Simple and tasty. I used about 1 T. of the cream cheese mix (instead of 1/2) and there was plenty of mixture to handle this amount. I made sure when I topped off with the remaining batter that all of the cream cheese mixture was covered so that nothing oozed out. I did use canned (gasp) frosting on top because they needed to travel to a school event and I didn't think the cool whip would hold up. I think I prefer them with frosting over the cool whip anyway. A hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
these cupcakes were a nice twist on the original chocolate cupcake .... I made it for my niece and nephew and they absolutely loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States