Mini Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Cook4U
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I followed the recipe, using Equal 0 calorie sweetener instead of sugar and egg beaters. They turned out like marshmallows. It was probably my fault because I used egg beaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
These are awesome! Perfect for using leftover egg whites, and easy to make. Everyone at our family Easter loved how light and airy they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made these the first time around with 1/2 cup sugar but I found them a bit too sweet so I decreased the sugar and added coffee grounds, cinnamon, and vanilla. They were beautifully speckled and a fun guilt-free treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I must be doing something wrong....I used Splenda also, a pinch of cream of tartar, and dusted them with baking cocoa and cinnamon.....baked them at 200 degrees for about 40 min....they crumble when you pick them up. I guess the sugar is what binds them so perhaps I must add a small amount of sugar. Has anyone else had this problem? I must say the crumbs are delicious and melt in your mouth, but what a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
LittoBubbo, you might want to get an oven thermometer and check the actual temp inside your oven against what you're setting it at. It sounds like you're baking them at WAY too high a temperature. 300º is a little high for any kind of meringue recipe to cook properly though. At a lower temp, the inside gets a chance to dry out before the outside browns or burns. Don't forget - egg whites and sugar both burn easily. If you like a chewy interior, go with the 300º and shorter baking time and know that the insides will be moist and chewy. If you like them cooked completely and prefer them crispy all the way through, go with 250º or so and bake longer and slower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Juliana
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These turned out quite lovely! I used 3/8 cup of white granulated sugar and an 1/8 cup of brown sugar for a little extra flavour, but cut down the vanilla to half a teaspoon. Baked for 20 minutes instead of 35, as per other reviewers' comments that they started to brown too soon. I also sprinkled crushed chocolate chips on top for fun. Meringues as just so easy to make and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
WILL SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME? whenever i try to make these.. dey turn brown and dey burn on the bottom like crazy and are really undone inside.. and when i open the oven door they deflate and turn rock hard! someone PLEASE help me. ive been at it for three weeks and iVe gotten NO WHERE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittoBubbo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Fantastic. I love these but cannot bring myself to spend money on them in the store. But now I dont have to! 2 eggs made me about 35 small 'cookies'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I used 1/3 cup powdered sugar and they turned out great. They were a little brown, but still tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forestville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I didn't have any vanilla so I used lemon and they were still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States