Mini Ham And Cheese Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
LOVE these! I'm only giving 4 stars because I do them slightly differently - but they are ALWAYS gobbled up. Use the little dinner rolls you find in the regular bread section of the grocery - not the larger ones, the ones in the throw-away rectangular pan where the rolls are only about 1x2 inches - three rows of about 8 or 10 rolls. Remove from pan still connected and slice across the whole thing horizontally. Put the bottom half back in the pan. Brush part of the butter mixture on inside - bottom and top. Add your ham & cheese (easier if you chop it all up first) then replace the top half. Pour/brush the rest of the butter mixture on top. Cover with foil & bake 20 minutes. Let rest at least 5-10 minutes before cutting between the rolls. You'll NEVER have left overs, so I advise doubling your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Sorry but this sandwich just wasn't for me. I made with turkey breast instead of ham and used whole wheat buns. I also put the butter mixture inside of the buns instead of outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I rated this 4 stars instead of 5 because I followed others' suggestions to brush the butter mixture on top & bottom cut sides of the rolls, as well as brushing plain melted butter on the tops & sprinkling with poppy seeds just before baking. I used the Hawaiian sweet rolls, again following others' suggestion to cut the whole package in half and separate after baking. I made half with ham & Swiss and half with chicken & provolone. I used a ham steak and rotisserie chicken which I chopped in the blender. Using chopped meat, as called for in the recipe, eliminates the worry of whole pieces of ham coming out when eating. The tops of the first batch were a little too brown for my liking. I kept a close eye on subsequent batches as they baked and laid a loose piece of foil over the top for the last 5 -7 minutes to keep them from browning too much. They were a huge success at my small group meeting with several people asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I served this at a party and it was such a hit! I didn't even include the minced onion or poppyseeds because I didn't have them. Instead I spread the dijon mustard on the top side of the buns and the butter right on top. Definitely take the tip on cutting all the buns in half instead of trying to assemble individual sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Made this for a Christmas party; everyone thought they were great! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Love it! Simple recipes that work are my absolute favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I've made these on several occasions and can never make enough. I never have leftovers. I do make some slight revisions. Firstly, I use Hawaiian rolls. I've found that the poppy seed mixture can be used for 48 rolls. I slice the rolls in half sideways, add 8 thinly sliced pieces of ham (4 stacked), and use 6 pieces of provolone (for every 12 rolls). I then brush the poppy seed mixture on top of the cheese, instead of over the top (that seems messy and wasteful). Just before I put them in the oven I brush a bit of plain, melted butter over the top of the rolls. Viola! Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I have been wanting to make these forever! They were awesome and so easy...I love that! Anyway, I omitted the poppy seeds and I used King's Hawaiian rolls...turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
These little sammies are fantastic! I think they are by far the best when made with the King's Hawaiian slightly sweet rolls. I do as others have mentioned and just slice the tops off the whole pack of rolls, build my sammies, put the top back on, wrap in foil and bake. After they come out of the oven, I pull them apart. I've always had this recipe with the poppy seed mixture INSIDE the sammies and I think it's much tastier than putting it on top. I do brush the tops of the rolls with melted butter after they come out of the oven as I thinks that adds just that extra bit of flavor. I gave this recipe 4 stars since they want you to put the mixture on top and you miss all the flavor that way. No matter how you decide to make them, try these out because you will LOVE them and everyone will rave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Quick, easy & delicious. I've been making this recipe for several years. You can prepare them a day or two ahead of time & wrap them in aluminum foil until needed - just add a few minutes to the baking time. I've found that Pepperidge Farms petite dinner rolls work best with these. I usually spread half the mixture on top of the cheese & the other half on top of the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Ham and Cheese Rolls

These easy and tasty little sliders are perfect for game day.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States