Minestrone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mary Fleming Sandy
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
This soup turned out amazing! However, I would warn you to have a large pot. I ended up having to transfer the from one pot to another. I also made some spicy Italian sausage on the side and my husband sliced it and added to his bowl and said it was amazing. Served it when toast and enjoy the leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Fleming Sandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
it was really easy to make,I used garbanzo beans as well as the other beans. only used half the cabbage, but added a few more carrots in the place of. smelled good while it was cooking. at the end I used a few pre-made meatballs as the family has got to have their meat. everything basically was fresh.I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Robert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Easy! Ready in a flash. I left out the corn (that seemed weird to include) and cabbage (also odd) and added more thyme, basil, marjoram. Otherwise followed the recipe. I'd make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristina123
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
You definitely need more vegetable stock!! People wouldn't even know it was a soup unless you told them. I added a ton of basil and garlic and it was still a little bland. I used kale instated of cabbage, and next time I would do with out the potatoes, I just didn't like it with the flavors with the rest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I followed this recipe to the letter and it was a disaster. There was way too much cabbage! It sucked up all of the broth and I ended up having to scramble and add water and tomato sauce and spices etc to make more broth. It ended up edible but not great. Next time I'll add the cabbage last along with the pasta and use twice as much stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It does need more liquid but very extra good taste. I love to cook soup this is a winner just add liquid of your choice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is an awesome recipe. I did substitute a few ingredients though, and added some extra items, along with the other ingredients. Instead of the cabbage, I added a small turnip,a small rutabegga, portion of leek, parsley, and dill, two cups of water along with the vegtable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Excellent even though I used macaroni instead of orzo and I forgot to pick up a zucchini. Also I used canned corn instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Loved this! A rich & hearty soup that, as did many others, we tailored to our individual tastes and in accordance with what we had on hand. Omitted corn & cabbage; used a can black beans & a can great northern beans (drained & rinsed). Also, small shell pasta instead of the orzo. Also, a can of crushed tomatoes & a can of stewed tomatoes. The recipe does need far more broth or liquid than called for & it is more of a stew than a soup - which suited us just fine. We thought the seasoning of 2 T Italian Seasoning was perfect for our tastes. It does make a LOT ... and we are looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a tasty soup that is open to your creative side. Venture from the original with almost any kind of veggie drawer resident. I used elbow macaroni on my first round which really absorbed the liquid. Have fun with this, it will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States