Minestrone Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I used this recipe as a base as I wanted the Bacon in it and substituted Chicken Italian Sausage for the Ground Beef as another reviewer suggested. The Chicken Italian Sausage soaked up most of the Bacon Fat which was fine with me. I saluted Onion, Celery and Carrots as well and then added Green Beans and Shredded Cabbage and New Potatoes as well as fresh garlic, Tuscan Italian Seasoning, 1 Quart Chicken Stock and 1 Quart Vegetable Stock with salt and pepper to taste. I used jarred Cannelloni Beans at the very end and I cooked Elbow Macaroni separately and added this to the bottom of the bowls as well as Coarsely Grated Parmesan and fresh Flat Leaf Parseley. It was Wonderful. My Husband loved it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Cooked this recipe for a house filled with carnivorous middle-aged men who refuse to eat vegetables and it was a hit! I used spicy italian sausage and bacon, as well as a plethora of veggies from my refrigerator and added little red potatoes (I didn't have any beans). I was very pleased with the taste; it came out perfect! Totally worth the time :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I did not have the bacon, hamburger, or red wine - but the soup was still excellent. It does make a lot, so might make only half a recipe next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Oh my goodness gracious this is such a good recipe. Not being a fan of tomato based soups I was hesitant to try it but thank goodness I did because I loved it! It was also a big hit with the rest of the family. At first, the smell of the soup was not appealing but as I let it simmer and let all the flavours infuse, the whole house filled with an amazing aroma. I did add a bit more pasta and simmered for a half an hour more, so it was more like a stew than a soup. It was perfect on a cold winter’s night and we ate with gusto! We added some shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream to change it up the next day. So yummy! This is a good soup to have on hand and add to your lunches. I would never get bored of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
One of the best soup recipes I've ever made. Makes a lot of soup but freezes wonderfully, I put it in small bowls to use for lunch. Only changes I made were navy beans instead of garbanzo and a different type of pasta so just use any of your favorites and the soup will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
What a great soup on a cold winter evening. I put the tomatoes, zucchini and added half of an anahiem peper into a food processor and put that into the soup. It's the only way to get my kids to eat the zucchini or and tomatos. I don't care for garbanzo beans so I put in a can of white beans (drained) and a can of white Kidney beans (drained). I also put in italian sausage instead of ground beef. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made this soup the other day and thought it was very good. My only problem is when I make soup, it turns into a stew instead. I used 1 lb. sweet Italian sausage as that is what I had on hand. I used cut spaghetti and white kidney beans. I also used baby spinach. When I cook with a red sauce I generally add a pinch of sugar to take away some of the acidity. Will be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
The best Minestrone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skopje, Skopje, Macedonia
Living In: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
My family has a very unusual Thanksgiving dinner. We all make soup and I have made this soup for the last 3 years and they love it. My family is very large, about 30 immediate members, and I only have to double the recipe because it makes so much. And my kids love to help me make it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was really peculiar, had an "off" taste to it. I'm guessing it was the onion soup, as all the other ingredients seemedOK. It was edible, but barely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States