Minestrone Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I did not have the bacon, hamburger, or red wine - but the soup was still excellent. It does make a lot, so might make only half a recipe next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Oh my goodness gracious this is such a good recipe. Not being a fan of tomato based soups I was hesitant to try it but thank goodness I did because I loved it! It was also a big hit with the rest of the family. At first, the smell of the soup was not appealing but as I let it simmer and let all the flavours infuse, the whole house filled with an amazing aroma. I did add a bit more pasta and simmered for a half an hour more, so it was more like a stew than a soup. It was perfect on a cold winter’s night and we ate with gusto! We added some shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream to change it up the next day. So yummy! This is a good soup to have on hand and add to your lunches. I would never get bored of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
One of the best soup recipes I've ever made. Makes a lot of soup but freezes wonderfully, I put it in small bowls to use for lunch. Only changes I made were navy beans instead of garbanzo and a different type of pasta so just use any of your favorites and the soup will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
What a great soup on a cold winter evening. I put the tomatoes, zucchini and added half of an anahiem peper into a food processor and put that into the soup. It's the only way to get my kids to eat the zucchini or and tomatos. I don't care for garbanzo beans so I put in a can of white beans (drained) and a can of white Kidney beans (drained). I also put in italian sausage instead of ground beef. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made this soup the other day and thought it was very good. My only problem is when I make soup, it turns into a stew instead. I used 1 lb. sweet Italian sausage as that is what I had on hand. I used cut spaghetti and white kidney beans. I also used baby spinach. When I cook with a red sauce I generally add a pinch of sugar to take away some of the acidity. Will be making this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
The best Minestrone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skopje, Skopje, Macedonia
Living In: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
My family has a very unusual Thanksgiving dinner. We all make soup and I have made this soup for the last 3 years and they love it. My family is very large, about 30 immediate members, and I only have to double the recipe because it makes so much. And my kids love to help me make it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was really peculiar, had an "off" taste to it. I'm guessing it was the onion soup, as all the other ingredients seemedOK. It was edible, but barely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Wow! Very delish!! Best Minestrone ever!! I don't think That I would search for other recipe on this soup!! I adjusted some on this recipe. I used some EVOO instead of bacon s drIpping. I didn't use bacon and celery. I used 1 lb. of ground beef and 1/2 cup of chopped onion. I cooked onion first for few minutes, then added beef. At last minute, I added garlic. Speak of seasonings, I only used dried oregano, kosher salt, & fresh black pepper. I added 1/2 tsp. of Zesty Seasoning Blend and 1/2 tsp. of Tastefully Simple Onion Onion. Instead of french onion soup, i used half packet of onion dip powder. Red wine was a key to this soup. I didn't use spinach, spinach pasta, zucchini, and parsley at all. I used julienne cut carrots, chickpea, and dried macaroni at last 20 minutes. I increased the heat bit and let it boil gently in the cover. So, the pasta was cooked perfectly. We sprinkled the soup with Romano cheese. It even tasted better on next day!! Less liquid due to the absorbing by the pasta, they turned into a stew. Perfect soup for cold days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I made this soup and changed a few items because I did not have them. It was soooooooo.......good. The bacon gave it a great flavor. I added baby portabella mushrooms and small shell noodles. My kids loved it! I did not have garbanzo beans, but I think the shell noodles made a good substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States