Minestrone Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Really great. First time, I followed the recipe exactly and it came out good but missing something. I've experimented a few times and found a good couple of changes. First, I don't add salt (we need a reduced sodium diet in our home). I also add about a tablespoon of black pepper and garlic powder. Finally, while melting the butter at the start I add the first clove of minced garlic and saute it with the carrots, celery and onion so that its flavor can be added as a base. This has become a treat for everyone when I make it. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Yum yum yum! Made lots of changes per others reviews. Baby spinach instead of cabbage dash of tobasco, green beans kidney beans egg noodles cooked separate fresh parsley fresh oregano and basil homemade chicken stock will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Lynn Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I usually make Jamie's Minestrone from this site, but I had a handful of potatoes I needed to use, so I found this recipe. I made a few small changes...such as using diced tomatoes instead of stewed (I would actually use crushed next time), and only used 1.5 tsp of dried basil with 1/2 tsp of dried italian seasoning (2 TBS sounds like a LOT of dried herbs). I also cooked the noodles separately and added to the soup upon servings. It turned out quite good. More like a pasta e fagioli than a minestrone, but my 5 and almost-2-year-old ate it with no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Outstanding! Very flavorful. I made one small change and added a few extras. I didn't want the potatoes so I removed them and replaced them with a can of diced tomatoes with basil and oregano and then I added some zucchini, summer squash and green beans. With my additions, next time I will also add a bit extra broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladydi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
very good. but turned out more like stew. needed more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Wow, loved this one! Used spinach instead of cabbage, that's the only change I made. Will be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
not my favorite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was the best minestrone I've ever had anywhere. I did use spinach instead of cabbage and threw in a parmesan cheese rind while cooking for extra flavor. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy T - Valrico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
DELICIOUS !!!!!!! Just made this for the first time and we all are devouring it :) .I first changed the servings to 10 and updated the proportions on ingredients for I wanted a large pot of soup and some to freeze.Since we love veggies, I did add a few extra such as fresh chopped parsnips for sweetness instead of potatoes,fresh spinach,sliced mushrooms,corn kernels & diced zuccini .I also used Ditalini pasta instead of elbows.It was one of the heartiest , most delicious soups I've ever made !!So many wonderful flavors, and my home smells great now!!!!A keeper for sure ;) Served it with parmesan cheese on top and fresh crusty italian bread. YUMMMMMMO !!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
One of the few recipes I've ever tried on here which is great as written. I did use a can of red kidney beans but only because I like them, not because this recipe needed it. This is one of the best soup recipes I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States