Minestrone Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I thought this was okay. I followed the recipe exactly, except for not having the small amount of cabbage. I ended up having to add a cup of water. It was still rather thick for this type of soup as it cooled down. Some people may like that though. I had recently made this type of soup from another Italian recipe, and think I may have been spoiled. This didn't have quite that same fresh taste. I am sure it will be eaten, but it is just a little salty and slightly canned soup tasting, to me, for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by IzzyBorden
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I actually forgot to add Parmesan as garnish but will do so tomorrow! I doubled the recipe, added extra tomato paste to thicken, some black pepper and italian seasoning and boiled pasta separately, adding afterwards. It tasted great and I've got plenty left. Will definitely be holding onto this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IzzyBorden
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I put in two handful of lentils instead of the chickpeas but otherwise stayed true to the recipe. It is so delicious!! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Fung

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suly B
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Looooove minestrone all year round. Great recipe. I add chick peas and replace macaroni with gluten free fusilli, adds thickness to broth and already hearty soup. Yummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suly B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Good recipe. Almost exactly how my Italian family makes it. Like some reviews recommended, I also added zucchini to it and used kidney beans. Also, I wanted some meat in it so I separately cooked 2 chicken breasts, shredded them, and thew them in the soup along with the noodles. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElizabethB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Very nice soup. I'm not sure I added enough chicken broth because my soup came out pretty thick. Make sure you put enough broth in so it will cook the vegetables and still leave you with a soup instead of a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Mmm. I added some fresh rosemary and thyme. The beans come in 15 oz size but I added 2 cans. I like beans. I like the taste of tomatoes but not whole mouth full so I used the hand blender to purée them, flavor but not chunky. My father is not fond of carrots so I used less of them and more cabbage and celery. Over all a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Loved it! I was easy to make and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Gee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was a very good soup! I only made a few changes: I doubled the garlic, and doubled the tomato paste (used 2 tbsp). I also only used 1 1/2 tsp parsley, but added 1 tsp basil and 1 tsp oregano, along with 1/4 cup of red wine. I used a can of chopped tomatoes instead of stewed. Finally, I added 1 1/2 tsp black pepper and a few dashes of red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit more. I also only simmered for an extra 15 minutes after adding the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
2nd time I make this soup! Family loves it because I use leftover prime beef meat and add the rib bones for added flavor. Truly easy and better than other recipes I have tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Lair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States