Minestrone Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
So flavorful! So glad I added 3 TBS of tomato paste, it created the PERFECT consistency. I only used 2TBS of margarine. Great Northern White Beans. 3-4TBS of fresh parsley. Made my own stewed tomatoes. Added 1 chicken breast seasoned with Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I've tried a number of minestrone recipes from Allrecipes and this one struck me as slightly odd. I think the beans left a sweet after taste that was unexpected and not desired. I can't quite figure it out, but if you like a slightly sweet after taste, go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy926

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
THIS IS A GREAT BASIC FOR MINESTRONE SOUP, BUT WE LIKE LOTS MORE CABBAGE, ONION, MACARONI, AND I USE LEFT OVER PINTO BEANS INSTEAD OF CANNED BEANS. I ALWAYS KEEP A FREEZER CONTAINER IN THE FREEZER SO THAT WHEN WE HAVE DABS OF CORN, SQUASH, GREEN BEANS, OR OTHER VEGGIES LEFT OVER I JUST KEEP ADDING TO THE CONTAINER AND THEN THAW THIS AND ADD TO MY MINESTRONE SOUP AND IT COMES OUT GREAT. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Perfect recipe 'as is.' You could substitute kidney or pinto beans for cannellini; you could sub other vegies for the ones listed. The two things I do differently are: a) use fresh tomatoes and b) boil the pasta separately, rinse and drain in the pot before starting the soup (why dirty an extra pot?), so it isn't cloudy and starchy. I also use the rinds of parmesan cheese blocks, chopping them up in small pieces and throwing them into the broth for added flavor. You could fish them out, but they're edible and add texture if they haven't dissolved. Why waste?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Excellent. Flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! I made this the other night and couldn't get enough. I love that it's so loaded with veggies and other good thing, you don't miss the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I have never made soup in my life! This turned out really good. I did change it some though. I added extra celery and carrots. Used one tablespoon of Olive oil instead of butter. A whole small can of tomato paste (only because I read it wrong, lol). Added extra garlic and salt. Added pepper and dried basil. Used fat free broth and added a packet of dry boullion too (sodium free). I put the cheese in the pot with the soup instead of the bowls...(next time I will try it before adding the cheese). I also added a pound of cubed stew meat. Turned out awesome and my boyfriend loved it as well. I counted all the calories and it was approx 255 per cup of soup. Not putting cheese in the soup and useing whole wheat pasta would lighten the calorie load.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Totally the BEST minestrone!! it's DELICIOUS. i use kidney beans. my husband loves it!!! thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Best ever!!!!! Used chicken anduilli sausage which was great. One of my fav's now...thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States