Minestrone Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Totally the BEST minestrone!! it's DELICIOUS. i use kidney beans. my husband loves it!!! thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Best ever!!!!! Used chicken anduilli sausage which was great. One of my fav's now...thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
No need to look any further for a yummy minestrone soup recipe. I made as directed except for cooking time when adding elbow noodles. They were done after 15 minutes of simmering. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made this recipe and admittedly tweaked it quite a lot. However, I do think I came up with something very similar to the submitter’s version. I used olive oil instead of margarine and only one T. not four. I increased the celery to a generous 1/2 cup and bumped the carrots up to about 3/4 cup. I thought the amount of cabbage was negligible, and I didn’t have it anyway, so I left that out. I used diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil, and instead of potatoes, I used a combination of zucchini and yellow squash. Lastly I subbed ditalini pasta for the elbows. As for the process, I tweaked that a bit as well. I sautéed the onion, celery and carrots for about 5 minutes, adding the garlic during the final 30 seconds. I then added the other ingredients, except for the beans and pasta. I gently simmered for 30 minutes, which was probably a bit too long. I would cut that back to 10-15 minutes next time, so the zucchini won’t be overcooked. I cooked my pasta separately and added it along with the beans and some fresh basil and just heated it through. Garnished with fresh parsley. My result was a delicious, veggie-packed soup that was low in fat and calories, but very satisfying!! We loved it!! UPDATE 3/26/13: I made this again as before but this time threw in some coarsely chopped fresh spinach at the very end, which was a very nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Very tasty soup. I like the fact that it wasn't overpowered with Italian seasonings like some minestrone recipes are. Just simple and delicious. The only changes I made were that I used fresh parsley in place of the dried, and spiral pasta instead of the elbow. Very healthy too! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent soup as written! I used olive oil in place of butter, increased veggies about 50% (carrots, celery, cabbage/coleslaw, garlic), added 1 can kidney beans instead of potato, and used 1/3 cup tomato sauce instead of paste for lighter tomato flavor. Added crushed red pepper and 2 cooked chicken/turkey sausages to liven it up. Also held off on cheese and added at the table to taste. Used 1 cup medium paste shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was an extremely easy to make soup! I used low sodium chicken broth(70mg per serving), and it turned out great. The sodium content in most soups is outrageously high, but this one came to about 200 mg. sodium per serving after using low-sodium broth and no salt added tomatoes and paste. I cannot find cannellini beans in Central Texas so the next best thing were navy beans and northern beans, they were terrific! I highly recommend this recipe if you are looking for a quick, but pleasing meal for lunch or dinner paired with a salad. Thanks for the recipe, great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
very, very good! Husband kept talking about it. Perfect on a cold night, with a slice of good bread with butter. I used spinach instead of cabbage (more traditional), and tomatoes with basil and garlic. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ufa, Bashkortostan Republic, Russia
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I didn't have any cabbage, so I used green beans and a handful of frozen edamame. I also used a can of petite diced tomatoes. It's really good if you add dried basil. Cooked it in the slow cooker for about 4 hours and the vegetables got tender, but not mushy. If you plan on eating this soup over several days, it's good to cook the pasta separately, and just add it before warming the soup, so it doesn't soak up all the broth and get mushy. Great, veggie-loaded soup for the lunch box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Loved it!! Followed recipe to the letter and it turned out just as good as all the other reviews said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmyburl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States