Minestrone Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by xoxo_lina
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
What a delicious soup! I only used about a tbsp of butter to saute the veggies. I added a red pepper, a medium sized zucchini and half a head of cabbage. I also used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes and instead of parsley, I used 2 tsps of Italian seasoning. i added salt to taste, used kidney beans and added a small can of tomato paste. I didn't measure the veggies so this made A LOT of soup. I'm sure this will freeze well, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Great recipe! I changed it a bit though....I substituted kidney beans for the cannellini beans. I also used fresh garlic instead of minced, and spinach instead of cabbage. I also included green beans, and a couple dashes of tabasco for a little more flavor. I also included more chicken broth than called for and even with that it was still much closer to a stew than a soup. I like my minestrone to be a bit more soupy so next time I will increase the broth ( and seasonings accordingly ) even more. All in all a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Nice soup. I used leftover sausage skillet ~ smoked sausage, potatoes, carrots, onion and cabbage ~ I used a can of diced tomatoes with the juices no tomato paste and no chicken broth, just used the water the pasta was boiled in and as always left out the celery. Would make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was a comforting rich tasting soup only change was I used a mini bowtie pasta just for a better presentation, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was the best minestrone recipe I've come across. It was excellent. The only thing I changed was that I used extra virgin olive oil rather than the margarine. I was truly amazed at the flavor of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Made it without the tomato paste and substituted spinach for the cabbage. It was awesome and made a lot of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This was excellent! The only change I made was using 2T olive oil instead of the margarine. I loved the broth, next time I will only add half the macaroni noodles so it is a little more brothy (is that even a word ?!?) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was pure comfort food! I used 1 tbsp. olive oil instead of margarine. Used great northern beans. Skipped the cabbage, used one 15 oz. can of tomato sauce instead of tomato paste, used zucchini instead of potatoes, and cooked the macaroni separately from the soup. Delicious with hot fresh Parmesan Knots from this site. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I like cabbage in minestrone and less potatoes. Very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margiejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This recipe is wonderful. My kids loved it! I didn't have stewed tomatoes so used regular tomatoes and added italian seasoning. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States