Minestrone Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Very tasty soup. I like the fact that it wasn't overpowered with Italian seasonings like some minestrone recipes are. Just simple and delicious. The only changes I made were that I used fresh parsley in place of the dried, and spiral pasta instead of the elbow. Very healthy too! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent soup as written! I used olive oil in place of butter, increased veggies about 50% (carrots, celery, cabbage/coleslaw, garlic), added 1 can kidney beans instead of potato, and used 1/3 cup tomato sauce instead of paste for lighter tomato flavor. Added crushed red pepper and 2 cooked chicken/turkey sausages to liven it up. Also held off on cheese and added at the table to taste. Used 1 cup medium paste shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was an extremely easy to make soup! I used low sodium chicken broth(70mg per serving), and it turned out great. The sodium content in most soups is outrageously high, but this one came to about 200 mg. sodium per serving after using low-sodium broth and no salt added tomatoes and paste. I cannot find cannellini beans in Central Texas so the next best thing were navy beans and northern beans, they were terrific! I highly recommend this recipe if you are looking for a quick, but pleasing meal for lunch or dinner paired with a salad. Thanks for the recipe, great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
very, very good! Husband kept talking about it. Perfect on a cold night, with a slice of good bread with butter. I used spinach instead of cabbage (more traditional), and tomatoes with basil and garlic. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ufa, Bashkortostan Republic, Russia
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I didn't have any cabbage, so I used green beans and a handful of frozen edamame. I also used a can of petite diced tomatoes. It's really good if you add dried basil. Cooked it in the slow cooker for about 4 hours and the vegetables got tender, but not mushy. If you plan on eating this soup over several days, it's good to cook the pasta separately, and just add it before warming the soup, so it doesn't soak up all the broth and get mushy. Great, veggie-loaded soup for the lunch box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Loved it!! Followed recipe to the letter and it turned out just as good as all the other reviews said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmyburl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xoxo_lina
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
What a delicious soup! I only used about a tbsp of butter to saute the veggies. I added a red pepper, a medium sized zucchini and half a head of cabbage. I also used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes and instead of parsley, I used 2 tsps of Italian seasoning. i added salt to taste, used kidney beans and added a small can of tomato paste. I didn't measure the veggies so this made A LOT of soup. I'm sure this will freeze well, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Great recipe! I changed it a bit though....I substituted kidney beans for the cannellini beans. I also used fresh garlic instead of minced, and spinach instead of cabbage. I also included green beans, and a couple dashes of tabasco for a little more flavor. I also included more chicken broth than called for and even with that it was still much closer to a stew than a soup. I like my minestrone to be a bit more soupy so next time I will increase the broth ( and seasonings accordingly ) even more. All in all a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Nice soup. I used leftover sausage skillet ~ smoked sausage, potatoes, carrots, onion and cabbage ~ I used a can of diced tomatoes with the juices no tomato paste and no chicken broth, just used the water the pasta was boiled in and as always left out the celery. Would make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was a comforting rich tasting soup only change was I used a mini bowtie pasta just for a better presentation, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States