Minestrone Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Love this recipe. Added chick peas. Used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth and added tortellini instead of regular pasta. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriana Carpio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This is the best soup ever, and very easy to make. I'd never made minestrone before, but this recipe is my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anita Louise McKennon-Paxton
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made this today, and it's very good! I made it as written (other than using garbanzo rather than white, and it's a 4.5 star! Later I added some crushed red pepper flakes, basil, oregano, zucchini, and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Louise McKennon-Paxton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Really great. First time, I followed the recipe exactly and it came out good but missing something. I've experimented a few times and found a good couple of changes. First, I don't add salt (we need a reduced sodium diet in our home). I also add about a tablespoon of black pepper and garlic powder. Finally, while melting the butter at the start I add the first clove of minced garlic and saute it with the carrots, celery and onion so that its flavor can be added as a base. This has become a treat for everyone when I make it. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Yum yum yum! Made lots of changes per others reviews. Baby spinach instead of cabbage dash of tobasco, green beans kidney beans egg noodles cooked separate fresh parsley fresh oregano and basil homemade chicken stock will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Lynn Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I usually make Jamie's Minestrone from this site, but I had a handful of potatoes I needed to use, so I found this recipe. I made a few small changes...such as using diced tomatoes instead of stewed (I would actually use crushed next time), and only used 1.5 tsp of dried basil with 1/2 tsp of dried italian seasoning (2 TBS sounds like a LOT of dried herbs). I also cooked the noodles separately and added to the soup upon servings. It turned out quite good. More like a pasta e fagioli than a minestrone, but my 5 and almost-2-year-old ate it with no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Outstanding! Very flavorful. I made one small change and added a few extras. I didn't want the potatoes so I removed them and replaced them with a can of diced tomatoes with basil and oregano and then I added some zucchini, summer squash and green beans. With my additions, next time I will also add a bit extra broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladydi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
very good. but turned out more like stew. needed more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Wow, loved this one! Used spinach instead of cabbage, that's the only change I made. Will be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
not my favorite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States