Miner's Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Medium Hot Salsa is what I used and it had medium heat. Used italian seasoning instead of seperate basil/oregano. I also use 80% burger when making chili because I like the flavor that the burger oil gives off, then drain most of it. The end result was a little runny for my liking so I added some brown rice flour to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
My toddler and five year old son loved this. I gave it two stars because all the adults thought it was bland. I will keep this recipe for a 'kid friendly' chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southernmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
My husband won a ribbon in a church chili cook off with the recipe. The chili had to be editable. There were four categories: spiciest, best over all, tamest, most original. He won spiciest. We actually had a Hispanic family there. Earlier this week the wife was seen buying a lot of habanero peppers. The wife had held the husband back from putting more spices in. So my husband won the spiciest editable chili. He did not ground the meat but used some meat balls I had made the day before using the following recipe from this website. 'Fast and Friendly Meatballs'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Not all that hot and no real 'chili' flavor. The jar of sauce detracts from the taste in my opinion. Sorry, just not really even chili to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I tried this recipe because of the description. I find most chilis to be too bland for me, and he claimed to have a strong chili here. I was extremely disappointed. I added extra chili powder and cayenne, and it was still too bland. I also cut the beans in half, and there were still too many for our taste. Overall, there was just something off about the taste - I'm not sure if it was the sugar or the Italian-style seasonings, but it wasn't quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
My family thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
My dad loves HOT chili and is quite the expert, so I gave him this recipe. Sorry, but he was not at all impressed. Tasted like a basic chili to him, of course this is the guy who puts Habaneros in his chili and it is so hot just the smell of it clears your sinuses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I expected more. It's really just an average chili recipe. Not worth the effort. I could get the same thing out of a can and no one would know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
I think men should not be so pig-headed as to think women can't handle hot chili. I've made chili hot enough to burn the hair off your lumpy head. This recipe is mild in comparision.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States